The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Delaware: State Treasurers

Delaware State Treasurers, 1778-2018 (May be incomplete!)
Samuel Patterson 1778-85 James Tilton 1785-86 Joshua Clayton 1786-89 John Gordon 1789-91 Francis Many 1791-92 Robert Clark 1792-94 Thomas Sipple 1794-98 John Clarke 1798-1808 Henry Molleston 1808-13 Samuel Paynter 1813-18 Cornelius P. Comegys 1818-23 Ezekiel Cowgill 1823-24 William W. Green 1824-26 Ezekiel Cowgill 1826-30 Cornelius P. Comegys 1830-35 Peter S. Parker 1835-39 Elijah Cannon 1839-41 William D. Waples 1841 Gardner H. Wright 1841-45 James S. Buckmaster 1845-49 Jacob Faris 1849-51 William Cannon 1851-55 John R. Sudler 1855-57 William J. Clarke 1857-61 Samuel B. Hitch 1861-63 Locksley R. Jacobs 1863-65 Lewellyn Thorp 1865-67 William J. Clarke 1867-71 Robert H. Davis 1871-75 Thomas B. Giles 1875-79 Robert J. Reynolds 1879-83 John M. Houston 1883-87 William Herbert 1887-91 Wilbur H. Burnite 1891-95 Charles H. Atkins 1895-97 William M. Ross 1897-99 L. Heisler Ball 1899-1901 Martin B. Burris 1901-05 Thomas N. Rawlins 1905-09 David O. Moore 1909-13 Charles A. Hastings 1913-15 William J. Swain 1915-17 George S. Williams 1929-33 Jesse S. Cooper, Jr. 1945-46 Benjamin F. Johnson 1947-48 Willard D. Boyce 1949-51 Howard H. Dickerson 1955-56 Mary D. Jornlin 1970 Thomas R. Carper 1977-82 Jack Markell 1999-2009 Ken Simpler 2015-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1920 Nov 2: George M. Fisher (Rep), elected; William D. Mullen (Dem), defeated; Benjamin C. Coverman (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Peter S. Collins (Dem), elected; Fagan H. Simonton (Rep), defeated; Richard E. Norris (Liberal Democratic), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: John S. Isaacs (Rep), elected; Peter S. Collins (Dem), defeated.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Jesse S. Cooper, Jr. (Dem), elected; John S. Isaacs (Rep), defeated; George L. Biddle (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Benjamin F. Johnson (Rep), elected; Jesse S. Cooper, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Willard D. Boyce (Dem), elected; Benjamin F. Johnson (Rep), defeated; Annie E. Whiskman (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Ralph W. Emerson (Rep), elected; Willard D. Boyce (Dem), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Vera G. Davis (Rep), elected; Edna Brasure (Dem), defeated.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Emily Womach (Dem), elected; Daniel Ross (Rep), defeated; David Hitchcock (American Independent), defeated.
  • 1972 Nov 7: Mary D. Jornlin (Rep), elected; Edward S. Stansky (Dem), defeated; Donald G. Gies (American), defeated; Dorothy L. Hilyard (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1982 Nov 2: Janet C. Rzewnicki (Rep), elected; Joseph P. Farley (Dem), defeated; Alice L. Reynolds (American), defeated; Paul H. Nielsen (Libertarian), defeated; Elliot W. Traiman (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Jack Markell (Dem), elected; Janet C. Rzewnicki (Rep), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Jack Markell (Dem), elected; Ronald G. Poliquin (Rep), defeated.
  • 2006 Nov 7: Jack Markell (Dem), elected; Esthelda R. Parker-Selby (Rep), defeated.
  • 2010 Sep 14: Chip Flowers, Jr. (Dem), nominated; Velda Jones-Potter (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Sep 14: Colin R. J. Bonini (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Chip Flowers, Jr. (Dem), elected; Colin R. J. Bonini (Rep), defeated.
  • 2014 Sep 9: Sean Barney (Dem), nominated; Chip Flowers, Jr. (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2014 Sep 9: Ken Simpler (Rep), nominated; Cheryl Valenzuela (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2014 Nov 4: Ken Simpler (Rep), elected; Sean Barney (Dem), defeated; David B. Chandler (Green), defeated.
  • 2018 Nov 6: Colleen Davis (Dem), elected; Ken Simpler (Rep), defeated; David B. Chandler (Green), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DE/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]