The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Delaware: Secretaries of State

Delaware Secretaries of State, 1802-2007 (May be incomplete!)
William B. Shields 1802 Thomas Clayton 1808-10 Willard Hall 1811 Henry M. Ridgely 1817-27 John M. Clayton 1826-28 John W. Houston 1841-45 John Wales 1845-49 George P. Fisher 1846 James R. Lofland 1855-59 Nathaniel B. Smithers 1863 William Frederick Causey 1884-87 John P. Saulsbury 1890 William H. Boyce 1897 James H. Hughes 1899 Caleb R. Layton 1901-05 Joseph L. Cahall 1905-09 Daniel O. Hastings 1909 William T. Smithers 1909-11 Charles S. Richards 1911-13 Thomas W. Miller 1913-15 George H. Hall 1915-17 Everett C. Johnson 1917-21 Alden R. Benson 1921-25 William G. Taylor 1925 Fannie S. Harrington 1925-27 Sylvester D. Townsend, Jr. 1927 Charles H. Grantland 1927-34 Walter Dent Smith 1934-37 Charles L. Terry, Jr. 1937-38 Josiah Marvel, Jr. 1938-41 Earle D. Willey 1941-42 William J. Storey 1942-49 Harris B. McDowell, Jr. 1949-53 John N. McDowell 1953-58 George J. Schulz 1958-61 Elisha Dukes 1961-69 Eugene Bunting 1969-71 Walton H. Simpson 1971-72 Robert H. Reed 1973-77 Glenn C. Kenton 1977-85 Michael E. Harkins 1985-91 Michael Ratchford 1992 William T. Quillen 1993-94 Edward J. Freel 1994-2000 Harriet N. Smith Windsor 2001-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Jan 19: Daniel O. Hastings, appointed.
  • 1909 Jun 16: Daniel O. Hastings, resigned.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DE/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]