The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Delaware: State Attorneys General

Delaware State Attorneys General, 1784-2020 (May be incomplete!)
Gunning Bedford, Jr. 1784-90 Nicholas Ridgely 1790-1801 Nicholas Van Dyke 1801-06 Outerbridge Horsey 1806-10 Thomas Clayton 1810-15 James Rogers 1815-30 Robert Frame 1830-35 James Rogers 1835-40 Edward W. Gilpin 1840-50 Willard Saulsbury, Sr. 1850-55 George P. Fisher 1855-60 Alfred Wooten 1860-64 Jacob Moore 1864-69 Charles B. Lore 1869-74 John B. Penington 1874-79 George Gray 1879-85 John H. Paynter 1885-87 John Biggs 1887-92 John R. Nicholson 1892-95 Robert C. White 1895-1901 Herbert H. Ward 1901-05 Robert H. Richards 1905-09 Andrew C. Gray 1909-13 Josiah O. Wolcott 1913-17 David J. Reinhardt 1917-21 Sylvester D. Townsend, Jr. 1921-25 Clarence A. Southerland 1925-29 Reuben Satterthwaite, Jr. 1929-33 Daniel J. Layton 1933 P. Warren Green 1933-39 James R. Morford 1939-43 Clair J. Killoran 1943-47 Albert W. James 1947-51 H. Albert Young 1951-55 Joseph Donald Craven 1955-59 Januar D. Bove, Jr. 1959-63 David P. Buckson 1963-71 W. Laird Stabler, Jr. 1971-75 Richard R. Wier, Jr. 1975-79 Richard S. Gebelein 1979-83 Charles M. Oberly III 1983-94 M. Jane Brady 1994-2007 Beau Biden 2007-15 Matthew P. Denn 2015-19 Kathy Jennings 2019-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1904: L. Irving Handy (Dem), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Sylvester D. Townsend, Jr. (Rep), elected; William T. Lynam (Dem), defeated.
  • 1924: Wilbur L. Adams (Dem), defeated.
  • 1933 Jul 6: P. Warren Green, appointed.
  • 1934: P. Warren Green (Rep), elected.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Clair J. Killoran (Rep), elected; Houston Wilson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Albert W. James (Rep), elected; Daniel F. Wolcott (Dem), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: H. Albert Young (Rep), elected; Thomas Cooch (Dem), defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Januar D. Bove, Jr. (Rep), elected; Michael A. Poppiti (Dem), defeated.
  • 1970 Nov 3: W. Laird Stabler, Jr. (Rep), elected; Andrew Moore (Dem), defeated.
  • 1982 Nov 2: Charles M. Oberly III (Dem), elected; Richard S. Gebelein (Rep), defeated; Vernon Luther Etzel (Libertarian), defeated; Traves V. Brownlee (American), defeated.
  • 1998 Sep 12: John T. Dorsey (Dem), nominated; David L. Finger (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Sep 12: M. Jane Brady (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Nov 3: M. Jane Brady (Rep), elected; John T. Dorsey (Dem), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: M. Jane Brady (Rep), elected; Carl Schnee (Dem), defeated; Vivian Houghton (Green), defeated.
  • 2006 Nov 7: Beau Biden (Dem), elected; Ferris W. Wharton (Rep), defeated.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Beau Biden (Dem), elected; Doug Campbell (Ind), defeated; David C. Graham, defeated.
  • 2014 Nov 4: Matthew P. Denn (Dem), elected; Theodore A. Kittila (Rep), defeated; Catherine Damavandi (Green), defeated; David C. Graham (Ind), defeated; John Machurek (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2018 Sep 6: Kathy Jennings (Dem), nominated; LaKresha Roberts (Dem), defeated in primary; Christopher Johnson (Dem), defeated in primary; Timothy P. Mullaney, Sr. (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2018 Nov 6: Kathy Jennings (Dem), elected; Bernard Pepukayi (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DE/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]