The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in District of Columbia

U.S. District Judges for the District of District of Columbia, 1936-2017 (may be incomplete!)
Jesse Corcoran Adkins 1936-46 Edward M. Curran 1948 Bolitha James Laws 1948-58 James Robert Kirkland 1949-58 Burnita Shelton Matthews 1949-68 Charles F. McLaughlin 1949-64 Walter Maximillian Bastian 1950-54 Joseph C. McGarraghy 1954-67 John J. Sirica 1957-77 George L. Hart, Jr. 1958-79 Leonard Patrick Walsh 1959-71 Spottswood W. Robinson III 1964-66 Oliver Gasch 1965-81 Howard Francis Corcoran 1965-77 William B. Bryant 1965-82 Aubrey Eugene Robinson, Jr. 1966-93 John Lewis Smith, Jr. 1966-83 Joseph Cornelius Waddy 1967-78 Gerhard Alden Gesell 1967-93 June Lazenby Green 1968-84 John Helm Pratt 1968-89 Charles Robert Richey 1971-97 Louis Falk Oberdorfer 1977-92 Harold H. Greene 1978-95 John Garrett Penn 1979-98 Thomas Penfield Jackson 1982-2002 George Hughes Revercomb 1985-93 Stanley Sporkin 1985-99 Michael Boudin 1990-92 Emmet G. Sullivan 1994- Reggie B. Walton 2001-15 John D. Bates 2001-14 Rosemary M. Collyer 2002-16 James Emanuel Boasberg 2011- Rudolph Contreras 2012- Christopher Reid Cooper 2014- Tanya Sue Chutkan 2014- Randolph Daniel Moss 2014- Amit P. Mehta 2014-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1946 Oct 15: Jesse Corcoran Adkins, took senior status.
  • 1958 Feb 25: James Robert Kirkland, died in office.
  • 1958 Nov 14: Bolitha James Laws, died in office.
  • 1964 Dec 31: Charles F. McLaughlin, took senior status.
  • 1967 Dec 17: Joseph C. McGarraghy, took senior status.
  • 1968 Mar 1: Burnita Shelton Matthews, took senior status.
  • 1971 Oct 5: Leonard Patrick Walsh, took senior status.
  • 1977 Oct 31: John J. Sirica, took senior status.
  • 1977 Nov 30: Howard Francis Corcoran, took senior status.
  • 1978 Aug 1: Joseph Cornelius Waddy, died in office.
  • 1979 May 16: George L. Hart, Jr., took senior status.
  • 1982 Jan 31: William B. Bryant, took senior status.
  • 1983 Jan 31: John Lewis Smith, Jr., took senior status.
  • 1984 Jan 15: June Lazenby Green, took senior status.
  • 1989 Dec 1: John Helm Pratt, took senior status.
  • 1992 Jan 31: Michael Boudin, resigned.
  • 1992 Jul 31: Louis Falk Oberdorfer, took senior status.
  • 1993 Jan 22: Gerhard Alden Gesell, took senior status.
  • 1993 Aug 1: George Hughes Revercomb, died in office.
  • 1997 Mar 19: Charles Robert Richey, died in office.
  • 1998 Mar 31: John Garrett Penn, took senior status.
  • 1999 Feb 12: Stanley Sporkin, took senior status.
  • 2002 Jan 31: Thomas Penfield Jackson, took senior status.
  • 2014 Oct 12: John D. Bates, took senior status.
  • 2015 Dec 31: Reggie B. Walton, took senior status.
  • 2016 May 18: Rosemary M. Collyer, took senior status.

    Associate Justice, U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia, 1863-1967 (may be incomplete!)
    Andrew Wylie 1863-85 Arthur MacArthur 1870-87 Alexander Burton Hagner 1879-1903 Walter Smith Cox 1879-99 Charles Pinckney James 1879-92 William Matthew Merrick 1885-89 Martin V. Montgomery 1887-92 Louis E. McComas 1892-99 Daniel Thew Wright 1903-14 Wendell Phillips Stafford 1904-31 Walter Irving McCoy 1914-18 Frederick L. Siddons 1915-31 Thomas Jennings Bailey 1918-50 Alfred Adams Wheat 1929-30 Joseph Winston Cox 1930-39 James McPherson Proctor 1931-48 Daniel William O'Donoghue 1931-46 Bolitha James Laws 1938-45 James W. Morris 1939-60 Matthew Francis McGuire 1941-66 Henry Albert Schweinhaut 1944-56 Alexander Holtzoff 1945-67 Richmond Bowling Keech 1946-66 Edward Allen Tamm 1948-65

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1885 May 1: Andrew Wylie, retired.
  • 1887 Apr 1: Arthur MacArthur, retired.
  • 1889 Feb 4: William Matthew Merrick, died in office.
  • 1892 Oct 2: Martin V. Montgomery, resigned.
  • 1892 Dec 1: Charles Pinckney James, retired.
  • 1899 Mar 3: Louis E. McComas, resigned.
  • 1899 Jul 1: Walter Smith Cox, retired.
  • 1903 Jun 1: Alexander Burton Hagner, retired.
  • 1914 Nov 15: Daniel Thew Wright, resigned.
  • 1931 May 4: Wendell Phillips Stafford, retired.
  • 1931 Jun 19: Frederick L. Siddons, died in office.
  • 1939 Sep 9: Joseph Winston Cox, died in office.
  • 1946 Oct 31: Daniel William O'Donoghue, took senior status.
  • 1950 Nov 1: Thomas Jennings Bailey, took senior status.
  • 1956 Nov 16: Henry Albert Schweinhaut, took senior status.
  • 1960 Nov 15: James W. Morris, died in office.
  • 1966 Oct 7: Matthew Francis McGuire, took senior status.
  • 1966 Nov 1: Richmond Bowling Keech, took senior status.
  • 1967 Dec 31: Alexander Holtzoff, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DC/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]