The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in District of Columbia

U.S. District Attorneys for Columbia, 1801-2004 (may be incomplete!)
John Thomson Mason 1801 Walter Jones, Jr. 1801-21 Thomas Swann 1821-33 Francis Scott Key 1833-41 Philip R. Fendall 1841-45 James Hoban 1845-46 Philip R. Fendall 1849-53 Philip Barton Key 1853-59 Robert Ould 1859-61 Edward Carrington 1861-70 George P. Fisher 1870-76 Harry H. Wells 1876-80 George B. Corkhill 1880-84 Augustus S. Worthington 1884-88 John B. Hoge 1888-91 Charles C. Cole 1891-93 Arthur A. Birney 1893-97 Henry E. Davis 1897-99 Thomas H. Anderson 1899-1901 Ashley M. Gould 1901-02 Morgan H. Beach 1903-05 Daniel W. Baker 1905-10 Clarence R. Wilson 1910-14 John E. Laskey 1914-21 Peyton Gordon 1921-28 Leo A. Rover 1928-34 Leslie C. Garnett 1934-37 David A. Pine 1937-40 Edward M. Curran 1940-46 George M. Fay 1946 George E. McNeil 1946-47 George M. Fay 1947-51 Charles M. Irelan 1951-53 Leo A. Rover 1953-56 Oliver Gasch 1956-61 David Campion Acheson 1961-65 John C. Conliff, Jr. 1965 David G. Bress 1965-69 Thomas A. Flannery 1969-71 Harold A. Titus, Jr. 1971-74 Earl J. Silbert 1974-79 Carl Raul 1979 Charles F. C. Ruff 1979-81 Stanley S. Harris 1981-83 Joseph E. diGenova 1983-88 Timothy J. Reardon III 1988 Jay B. Stephens 1988-93 J. Ramsey Johnson 1993 Eric H. Holder, Jr. 1993-97 Mary Lou Leary 1997-98 Wilma A. Lewis 1998-2001 Roscoe C. Howard 2001-04

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1859 Feb 27: Philip Barton Key, died in office.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DC/ofc/usatty.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]