The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
District of Columbia: Board of Commissioners

Members of the District of Columbia board of commissioners, 1874-1967 (May be incomplete!)
Henry T. Blow 1874 William Dennison 1874-78 John H. Ketcham 1874-77 Seth Ledyard Phelps 1875-79 Thomas B. Bryan 1877-78 Josiah Dent 1878-82 William Johnson Twining 1878-82 Thomas Phillips Morgan 1879-83 Garret J. Lydecker 1882-85 Joseph Rodman West 1882-85 James Barker Edmonds 1883-85 William Benning Webb 1885-89 William Ludlow 1886-88 Samuel Edwin Wheatley 1886-89 Charles Walker Raymond 1888-90 John W. Douglass 1889-93 Lemon Galpin Hine 1889-90 Henry Martyn Robert 1890-91 John W. Ross 1890-1902 William Trent Rossell 1891-93 Myron M. Parker 1893-94 Charles Francis Powell 1893-97 George Truesdell 1894-97 William Murray Black 1897-98 John Brewer Wight 1897-1900 Lansing H. Beach 1898-1901 Henry Brown Floyd Macfarland 1900-10 John Biddle 1901-07 Henry Litchfield West 1902-10 Jay J. Morrow 1907-08 Spencer Crosby 1908-09 William Voorhees Judson 1909-13 John Alexander Johnston 1910-13 Cuno H. Rudolph 1910-13 Chester Harding 1913-14 Oliver P. Newman 1913-17 Frederick L. Siddons 1913-15 Charles W. Kutz 1914-17 Louis Brownlow 1915-20 John George David Knight 1917-18 W. Gwynn Gardiner 1917-20 Charles W. Kutz 1918-21 John Thilman Hendrick 1920-21 Mabel Thorp Boardman 1920-21 James Frederick Oyster 1921-25 Cuno H. Rudolph 1921-26 Charles Keller 1921-23 James Franklin Bell 1923-27 Frederick A. Fenning 1925-26 Proctor L. Dougherty 1926-30 Sidney F. Taliaferro 1926-30 William B. Ladue 1927-30 Herbert B. Crosby 1930-33 Luther H. Reichelderfer 1930-33 John C. Gotwals 1930-34 George E. Allen 1933-38 Melvin C. Hazen 1933-41 Daniel I. Sultan 1934-38 David McCoach, Jr. 1938-41 George E. Allen 1939-40 John Russell Young 1940-52 Charles W. Kutz 1941-45 Guy Mason 1941-51 Gordon R. Young 1945-51 F. Joseph Donohue 1951-53 Bernard L. Robinson 1951-53 Renah F. Camalier 1952-55 Louis W. Prentiss 1953-54 Samuel Spencer 1953-56 Thomas A. Lane 1954-57 Robert E. McLaughlin 1955-61 David B. Karrick 1956-60 Alvin C. Welling 1957-60 Frederick J. Clarke 1960-63 Mark Sullivan, Jr. 1960-61 Walter N. Tobriner 1961-67 John B. Duncan 1961-67 Charles M. Duke 1963-66 Robert E. Mathe 1966-67

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1882 May 5: William Johnson Twining, died in office.
  • 1902 Jul 29: John W. Ross, died in office.
  • 1925 May 19: James Frederick Oyster, died in office.
  • 1926 Aug 2: Frederick A. Fenning, resigned.
  • 1938 Aug 31: George E. Allen, resigned.
  • 1940 Apr 15: George E. Allen, resigned.
  • 1941 Jul 15: Melvin C. Hazen, died in office.
  • 1945 Sep 25: Charles W. Kutz, retired.
  • 1960 Jul 22: David B. Karrick, resigned.
  • 1961 Mar 2: Mark Sullivan, Jr., resigned.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DC/ofc/bdcom.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]