The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Connecticut: State Councilors

Members of Connecticut Council of Assistants, 1759-1818 (May be incomplete!)
Matthew Griswold 1759-69 Abraham Davenport 1776-83 Eliphalet Dyer 1776-83 Jabez Hamlin 1776-84 Jabez Huntington 1776-80 Samuel Huntington 1776-83 Richard Law 1776-85 William Pitkin 1776-85 Elisha Sheldon 1776-78 Roger Sherman 1776-85 Joseph Spencer 1776-77 William Williams 1776-79 Oliver Wolcott, Sr. 1776-85 Titus Hosmer 1778-80 Joseph Spencer 1779-88 Oliver Ellsworth 1780-85 Andrew Adams 1781-89 Benjamin Huntington 1781-89 Joseph P. Cooke 1784-1802 Stephen M. Mitchell 1784-92 William Williams 1784-1802 William Hillhouse 1785-1808 William Samuel Johnson 1786-88 Jonathan Sturges 1786-88 John Treadwell 1786-98 James Wadsworth 1786-87 Erastus Wolcott 1786-89 John Chester 1788-91 James Hillhouse 1789-90 Jesse Root 1789 Jedediah Strong 1789-90 John Chandler 1790-94 James Davenport 1790-96 Roger Newberry 1790-1808 Heman Swift 1790-1801 Benjamin Huntington 1791-92 Amasa Learned 1791 Jonathan Ingersoll 1792-97 Tapping Reeve 1792 Thomas Grosvenor 1793-1801 Asher Miller 1793 Thomas Seymour 1793-1802 Aaron Austin 1794-1817 Jeremiah Wadsworth 1795-1800 David Daggett 1797-1804 Jonathan Brace 1798 Nathaniel Smith 1799-1804 Zephaniah Swift 1799 John Allen 1800-05 Zephaniah Swift 1801 Jonathan Brace 1802-18 Oliver Ellsworth 1802-07 Chauncey Goodrich 1802-07 John Chester 1803-08 William Edmond 1803-05 Elizur Goodrich 1803-17 Matthew Griswold 1805-17 Stephen T. Hosmer 1805-15 Henry Champion 1806-17 Asher Miller 1806-16 Isaac Beers 1808 Calvin Goddard 1808-15 Judson Canfield 1809-14 David Daggett 1809-13 Theodore Dwight 1809-15 John Cotton Smith 1809 Frederick Wolcott 1810-18 Roger M. Sherman 1814-17 Samuel W. Johnson 1815-17 Noah B. Benedict 1816-17 William Perkins 1816-17 Samuel B. Sherwood 1816 Asa Chapman 1817-18 Elias Perkins 1817-18 Elijah Boardman 1818 William Bristol 1818 Enoch Burroughs 1818 Sylvester Gilbert 1818 James Lanman 1818 John S. Peters 1818 David Tomlinson 1818 Peter Webb 1818

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1780 Aug 4: Titus Hosmer, died in office.
  • 1807 Nov 26: Oliver Ellsworth, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/stcn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]