The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Connecticut: House Speakers

Speakers of the Connecticut State House of Representatives, 1776-2003 (May be incomplete!)
Titus Hosmer 1776-78 Andrew Adams 1779-80 Joshua Coit 1793 David Daggett 1794-96 Elias Perkins 1798 John Cotton Smith 1800 Timothy Pitkin 1803-05 Lyman Law 1806 John Cotton Smith 1806-09 Lyman Law 1809-10 Elias Perkins 1815 David Plant 1819-20 Elisha Phelps 1821 Seth P. Beers 1822-23 Ralph I. Ingersoll 1824 Samuel A. Foot 1825-26 Ebenezer Young 1827-28 Elisha Phelps 1829 Henry W. Edwards 1830 Martin Welles 1831-32 Samuel Ingham 1833 Roger Huntington 1834 William L. Storrs 1834 Samuel Ingham 1835 Chauncey F. Cleveland 1835-36 Stillman K. Wightman 1837 William W. Boardman 1838-39 Charles J. McCurdy 1840-41 Stillman K. Wightman 1842 Noyes Billings 1843 Charles J. McCurdy 1844 William W. Boardman 1845 Cyrus H. Beardslee 1846 Lafayette S. Foster 1847-48 John C. Lewis 1849 Origen S. Seymour 1850 Samuel Ingham 1851 Charles B. Phelps 1852 William W. Eaton 1853 Lafayette S. Foster 1854 Green Kendrick 1854 Austin Baldwin 1855 Green Kendrick 1856 Eliphalet Bulkeley 1857 Alfred A. Burnham 1858 Oliver H. Perry 1859-60 Augustus Brandegee 1861 Henry C. Deming 1861 Josiah M. Carter 1862 Chauncey F. Cleveland 1863 John S. Rice 1864 Eleazer K. Foster 1865 David Gallup 1866 John T. Wait 1867 Charles Ives 1868 Orville H. Platt 1869 Lafayette S. Foster 1870 Alfred A. Burnham 1870 Edwin H. Bugbee 1871 Amos S. Treat 1872 William W. Eaton 1873 Tilton E. Doolittle 1874 Charles Durand 1875 Thomas M. Waller 1876 H. Lynde Harrison 1877 Charles H. Briscoe 1878 Dexter R. Wright 1879 Dwight Marcy 1880 William C. Case 1881 John M. Hall 1882 Charles H. Pine 1883 Henry B. Harrison 1884 William E. Simonds 1885 John A. Tibbits 1886 Heusted W. R. Hoyt 1887-88 John H. Perry 1889-90 Allan W. Paige 1891-92 Isaac W. Brooks 1893-94 Samuel Fessenden 1895-96 Joseph L. Barbour 1897-98 Frank B. Brandegee 1899-1900 John H. Light 1901-02 Michael Kenealy 1903-04 Marcus H. Holcomb 1905-06 John Q. Tilson 1907-08 Elmore S. Banks 1909-10 Frederick A. Scott 1911-12 Morris C. Webster 1913-14 Frank E. Healy 1915-18 James F. Walsh 1919-20 Frederick W. Huxford 1921-22 Leonard J. Nickerson 1923 Elbert L. Darbie 1925-26 John H. Hill 1927-28 Samuel A. Eddy 1929-30 Howard W. Alcorn 1931-32 H. Meade Alcorn, Jr. 1941-42 William R. Ratchford 1969-73 Ralph E. Van Nostrand 1985-87 Moira Lyons 2003

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1834 May 24: Roger Huntington, resigned.
  • 1835 May 15: Samuel Ingham, resigned.
  • 1849 Nov 21: John C. Lewis, died in office.
  • 1854 Jun 8: Lafayette S. Foster, resigned.
  • 1870 Jun 16: Lafayette S. Foster, resigned.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/spkr.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]