The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Connecticut: Secretaries of State

Connecticut Secretaries of State, 1735-2007 (May be incomplete!)
George Wyllys 1735-96 Samuel Wyllys 1796-1810 Thomas Day 1810-35 Royal R. Hinman 1835-42 Noah A. Phelps 1842-44 Daniel P. Tyler 1844-46 Charles W. Bradley 1846-47 John B. Robertson 1847-49 Roger H. Mills 1849-50 Hiram Weed 1850 John P. C. Mather 1850-54 Oliver H. Perry 1854-55 Nehemiah D. Sperry 1855-57 Orville H. Platt 1857-58 John Boyd 1858-61 J. Hammond Trumbull 1861-66 Leverett E. Pease 1866-69 Hiram Appleman 1869-70 Thomas M. Waller 1870-71 Hiram Appleman 1871-73 D. Webster Edgecomb 1873 Marvin H. Sanger 1873-77 Dwight Morris 1877-79 David Torrance 1879-81 Charles E. Searls 1881-83 D. Ward Northrup 1883-85 Charles A. Russell 1885-87 Leverett M. Hubbard 1887-89 R. Jay Walsh 1889-93 John J. Phelan 1893-95 William C. Mowry 1895-97 Charles Phelps 1897-99 Huber Clark 1899-1901 Charles G. R. Vinal 1901-05 Theodore Bodenwein 1905-09 Matthew H. Rogers 1909-13 Albert Phillips 1913-15 Charles D. Burnes 1915-17 Frederick L. Perry 1917-21 Donald J. Warner 1921-23 Francis A. Pallotti 1923-29 William L. Higgins 1929-33 John A. Danaher 1933-35 C. John Satti 1935-39 Sara B. Crawford 1939-41 Chase Going Woodhouse 1941-43 Frances B. Redick 1943-45 Charles J. Prestia 1945-47 Frances B. Redick 1947-49 Winifred McDonald 1949-51 Alice K. Leopold 1951-53 Charles B. Keats 1953-55 Mildred P. Allen 1955-59 Ella T. Grasso 1959-71 Gloria Schaffer 1971-78 Henry S. Cohn 1978-79 Barbara B. Kennelly 1979-82 Maura L. Melley 1982-83 Julia H. Tashjian 1983-91 Pauline R. Kezer 1991-95 Miles S. Rapoport 1995-99 Susan Bysiewicz 1999-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1845 Apr 7: Daniel P. Tyler (Whig), elected; Charles W. Bradley (Dem), defeated.
  • 1850 Jun 7: Hiram Weed, died in office.
  • 1873 Apr 25: Hiram Appleman, resigned; D. Webster Edgecomb, appointed.
  • 1888: Henry A. Bishop (Dem), defeated.
  • 1890: George P. McLean, defeated.
  • 1944: Charles J. Prestia (Dem), elected.
  • 1982 Nov 2: Julia H. Tashjian (Dem), elected; Michael L. Werner (Rep), defeated; Peter H. Reed (Libertarian), defeated; John O. Parsons (Conservative), defeated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Julia H. Tashjian (Dem), elected; Pauline R. Kezer (Rep), defeated; Joanne Cheledink, defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Pauline R. Kezer (Rep), elected; Julia H. Tashjian (Dem), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Miles S. Rapoport (Dem), elected.
  • 1998: Susan Bysiewicz (Dem), elected.
  • 2002: Susan Bysiewicz (Dem), elected.
  • 2006: Susan Bysiewicz (Dem), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]