The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Connecticut: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Connecticut, 1784-2018 (May be incomplete!)
Samuel Huntington 1784-86 Oliver Wolcott, Sr. 1786-96 Jonathan Trumbull, Jr. 1796-97 John Treadwell 1797-1809 Roger Griswold 1809-11 John Cotton Smith 1811-13 Chauncey Goodrich 1813-15 Jonathan Ingersoll 1816-23 David Plant 1823-27 John S. Peters 1827-31 Thaddeus Betts 1832-33 Ebenezer Stoddard 1833-34 Thaddeus Betts 1834-35 Ebenezer Stoddard 1835-38 Charles Hawley 1838-42 William S. Holabird 1842-44 Reuben Booth 1844-46 Noyes Billings 1846-47 Charles J. McCurdy 1847-49 Thomas Backus 1849-50 Charles Hobby Pond 1850-51 Green Kendrick 1851-52 Charles Hobby Pond 1852-54 Alexander H. Holley 1854-55 William Field 1855-56 Albert Day 1856-57 Alfred A. Burnham 1857-58 Julius Catlin 1858-61 Benjamin Douglas 1861-62 Roger Averill 1862-66 Oliver F. Winchester 1866-67 Ephraim H. Hyde 1867-69 Francis Wayland 1869-70 Julius Hotchkiss 1870-71 Morris Tyler 1871-73 George G. Sill 1873-77 Francis B. Loomis 1877-79 David Gallup 1879-81 William H. Bulkeley 1881-83 George G. Sumner 1883-85 Lorrin A. Cooke 1885-87 James L. Howard 1887-89 Samuel E. Merwin, Jr. 1889-93 Ernest Cady 1893-95 Lorrin A. Cooke 1895-97 James D. Dewell 1897-99 Lyman A. Mills 1899-1901 Edwin O. Keeler 1901-03 Henry Roberts 1903-05 Rollin S. Woodruff 1905-07 Everett Lake 1907-09 Frank B. Weeks 1909 Dennis A. Blakeslee 1911-13 Lyman T. Tingier 1913-15 Clifford B. Wilson 1915-21 Charles A. Templeton 1921-23 Hiram Bingham 1923-25 John H. Trumbull 1925 J. Edwin Brainard 1925-29 Ernest E. Rogers 1929-31 Samuel R. Spencer 1931-33 Roy C. Wilcox 1933-35 T. Frank Hayes 1935-39 James L. McConaughy 1939-41 Odell Shepard 1941-43 William L. Hadden 1943-45 C. Wilbert Snow 1945-46 James C. Shannon 1947-48 Robert E. Parsons 1948-49 William T. Carroll 1949-51 Edward N. Allen 1951-55 Charles W. Jewett 1955-59 John N. Dempsey 1959-61 Anthony J. Armentano 1961-63 Samuel J. Tedesco 1963-66 Fred J. Doocy 1966-67 Attilio R. Frassinelli 1967-71 T. Clark Hull 1971-73 Peter L. Cashman 1973-75 Robert K. Killian 1975-79 Jodi Rell 1995-2004

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1815 Aug 18: Chauncey Goodrich, died in office.
  • 1823 Jan 12: Jonathan Ingersoll, died in office.
  • 1831: Orange Merwin, defeated.
  • 1845 Apr 7: Reuben Booth (Whig), elected; Noyes Billings (Dem), defeated.
  • 1857: Henry B. Harrison (Rep), defeated.
  • 1890: Joseph W. Alsop (Dem), defeated.
  • 1902: Henry Roberts, elected.
  • 1904: Henry A. Bishop (Dem), defeated.
  • 1934: T. Frank Hayes (Dem), elected.
  • 1948: H. Meade Alcorn, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 2018 Aug 14: Erin Stewart (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]