The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Connecticut: State Comptrollers

Connecticut State Comptrollers, 1786-2000 (May be incomplete!)
James Wadsworth 1786-88 Oliver Wolcott, Jr. 1788-90 Ralph Pomeroy 1790-91 Andrew Kingsbury 1791-93 John Porter 1793-1806 Elisha Colt 1806-19 James Thomas 1819-30 Elisha Phelps 1830-34 Roger Huntington 1834-35 Gideon Welles 1835-36 William Field 1836-38 Henry Kilbourn 1838-42 Gideon Welles 1842-44 Abijah Carrington 1844-46 Mason Cleveland 1846-47 Abijah Catlin 1847-50 Rufus G. Pinney 1850-54 John Dunham 1854-55 Alexander Merrell 1855-56 Edward Prentis 1856-57 Joseph G. Lamb 1857-58 William H. Buell 1858-61 Leman W. Cutler 1861-66 Robbins Battell 1866-67 Jesse Olney 1867-69 James W. Manning 1869-70 Seth S. Logan 1870-71 James W. Manning 1871-73 Alfred R. Goodrich 1873-77 Charles C. Hubbard 1877-79 Chauncey Howard 1879-81 Wheelock Batcheller 1881-83 Frank D. Sloat 1883-85 Luzerne I. Munson 1885-87 Thomas Clark 1887-89 John B. Wright 1889-91 Nicholas Staub 1891-95 Benjamin P. Mead 1895-99 Thompson S. Grant 1899-1901 Abiram Chamberlain 1901-02 William E. Seeley 1903-05 Asahel W. Mitchell 1905-07 Thomas D. Bradstreet 1907-13 Daniel P. Dunn 1913-15 Morris C. Webster 1915-21 Harvey P. Bissell 1921-23 Frederick M. Salmon 1923-33 Anson F. Keeler 1933-35 Charles C. Swartz 1935-39 Fred R. Zeller 1939-41 John M. Dowe 1941-43 Fred R. Zeller 1943-45 John M. Dowe 1945-46 Raymond S. Thatcher 1946-47 Fred R. Zeller 1947-49 Raymond S. Thatcher 1949-51 Fred R. Zeller 1951-59 Raymond S. Thatcher 1959-66 James J. Casey 1966-67 Louis I. Gladstone 1967-71 Nathan G. Agostinelli 1971-75 J. Edward Caldwell 1975-91 William E. Curry, Jr. 1991-95 Nancy S. Wyman 1995-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1845 Apr 7: Abijah Carrington (Whig), elected; Mason Cleveland (Dem), defeated.
  • 1900: Abiram Chamberlain, elected.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Frederick M. Salmon (Rep), elected; Fred P. Holt (Dem), defeated; William T. Thuer (Socialist & Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1946 May 16: John M. Dowe, died in office.
  • 1986: Gary A. Franks, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/comp.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]