The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Connecticut: Continental Congress

Delegates to Continental Congress from Connecticut, 1774-88 (May be incomplete!)
Joseph P. Cooke 1770 Silas Deane 1774-76 Eliphalet Dyer 1774-79 Roger Sherman 1774-81 Jonathan Sturges 1774 Joseph Trumbull 1774 Titus Hosmer 1775-76 Oliver Wolcott, Sr. 1775-78 Samuel Huntington 1776-84 William Williams 1776 Andrew Adams 1777-82 Oliver Ellsworth 1777-84 Titus Hosmer 1777-79 Richard Law 1778 Jesse Root 1778-83 Joseph Spencer 1778 Eliphalet Dyer 1780-83 Benjamin Huntington 1780-84 Oliver Wolcott, Sr. 1780-84 Jedediah Strong 1782-84 William Hillhouse 1783-86 Richard Law 1783-84 Stephen M. Mitchell 1783-88 Roger Sherman 1783-84 James Wadsworth 1783 Joseph P. Cooke 1784-88 William Samuel Johnson 1784-87 John Treadwell 1784-87 Pierpont Edwards 1787-88 Benjamin Huntington 1787-88 Jeremiah Wadsworth 1788

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/ccdel.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]