The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Colorado: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Colorado State Supreme Court, 1877-2017 (May be incomplete!)
Samuel Hitt Elbert 1877-88 Wilbur F. Stone 1877-79 Henry C. Thatcher 1877-79 William E. Beck 1879-89 Joseph C. Helm 1879-92 Melville B. Gerry 1888-89 Victor A. Elliott 1889-95 Charles D. Hayt 1889-98 Luther M. Goddard 1892-1901 John Campbell 1895-1913 William H. Gabbert 1898-1917 Robert W. Steele 1901-10 George W. Bailey 1905-09 Luther M. Goddard 1905-09 Julius Caldeen Gunter 1905-07 John M. Maxwell 1905-09 Charles F. Caswell 1907 Joseph C. Helm 1907-09 Morton S. Bailey 1909-22 William A. Hill 1909-19 George W. Musser 1909-15 S. Harrison White 1909-19 James E. Garrigues 1910-21 Tully Scott 1913-23 James H. Teller 1915-25 George W. Allen 1917-27 Haslett P. Burke 1919-49 John H. Denison 1919-29 Greeley W. Whitford 1921-31 John Campbell 1922-37 John W. Sheafor 1923-28 John T. Adams 1925-35 Charles C. Butler 1927-37 R. Hickman Walker 1928 Wilbur M. Alter 1928-33 Julian H. Moore 1929-33 Benjamin C. Hilliard 1931-51 Francis E. Bouck 1933-41 E. V. Holland 1933-39 John C. Young 1935-45 Norris C. Bakke 1937-47 W. Lee Knous 1937-47 Otto Bock 1939-42 William S. Jackson 1942-53 Frank B. Goudy 1942-44 Wilbur M. Alter 1944-57 Mortimer Stone 1945-55 Frank L. Hays 1947-51 G. A. Luxford 1947-49 E. V. Holland 1949-59 O. Otto Moore 1949-69 John R. Clark 1951-56 Francis J. Knauss 1951-61 George H. Bradfield 1953-57 Henry S. Lindsley 1955-56 Leonard v. B. Sutton 1956-75 Felix L. Sparks 1956 Edward C. Day, Jr. 1957-76 Albert T. Frantz 1957-66 Frank H. Hall 1957-64 William E. Doyle 1959-61 Robert H. McWilliams 1961-70 Edward E. Pringle 1961-83 Paul V. Hodges 1967-82 Donald E. Kelley 1967-77 James K. Groves 1968-81 Robert B. Lee 1969-83 William H. Erickson 1970-96 Jim R. Carrigan 1976-79 Jean Dubofsky 1979-93 George E. Lohr 1979-97 Luis D. Rovira 1979-95 Joseph R. Quinn 1980-93 Howard M. Kirshbaum 1983-97 William D. Neighbors 1983-87 Anthony F. Vollack 1986- Mary J. Mullarkey 1987-2010 Gregory K. Scott 1993- Rebecca Love Kourlis 1995-2006 Gregory J. Hobbs 1996-2015 Alex J. Martinez 1996-2011 Michael L. Bender 1997- Nancy E. Rice 1998- Nathan B. Coats 2000- Allison H. Eid 2006-17

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1907 Nov 21: Charles F. Caswell, died in office.
  • 1910 Oct 12: Robert W. Steele, died in office.
  • 1922 May 16: Morton S. Bailey, died in office.
  • 1922 May 20: John Campbell, appointed.
  • 1928: R. Hickman Walker, defeated.
  • 1928 Jan 24: John W. Sheafor, died in office.
  • 1933 Jul 29: Julian H. Moore, died in office.
  • 1941 Nov 24: Francis E. Bouck, died in office.
  • 1942 Aug 15: Otto Bock, died in office.
  • 1942 Nov 3: William S. Jackson, elected.
  • 1944 Oct 14: Frank B. Goudy, died in office.
  • 1951 May 28: Frank L. Hays, died in office.
  • 1951 Aug 7: Benjamin C. Hilliard, died in office.
  • 1956 Feb 17: Henry S. Lindsley, died in office.
  • 1956 May 14: John R. Clark, died in office.
  • 1961 Oct 2: William E. Doyle, resigned.
  • 1987 Jun 29: Mary J. Mullarkey, appointed.
  • 1995 Jul 17: Rebecca Love Kourlis, appointed.
  • 1996 Apr 18: Gregory J. Hobbs, appointed.
  • 1996 Sep 12: Alex J. Martinez, appointed.
  • 1997 Jan 2: Michael L. Bender, appointed.
  • 1998 Aug 5: Nancy E. Rice, appointed.
  • 2000 Apr 24: Nathan B. Coats, appointed.
  • 2006 Feb 15: Allison H. Eid, appointed.
  • 2010 Nov 30: Mary J. Mullarkey, retired.
  • 2011 Oct 31: Alex J. Martinez, retired.
  • 2015 Aug 31: Gregory J. Hobbs, retired.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CO/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]