The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Colorado: Secretaries of State

Colorado Secretaries of State, 1876-2008 (May be incomplete!)
William M. Clark 1876-79 Norman H. Meldrum 1879-83 Melvin Edwards 1883-87 James Rice 1887-91 Edwin J. Eaton 1891-93 Nelson O. McClees 1893-95 Albert B. McGaffey 1895-97 Charles H. S. Whipple 1897-99 Elmer F. Beckwith 1899-1901 David A. Mills 1901-03 James Cowie 1903-07 Timothy O'Connor 1907-09 James B. Pearce 1909-15 John E. Ramer 1915-17 James R. Noland 1917-21 Carl S. Milliken 1921-27 Charles M. Armstrong 1927-35 James H. Carr 1935-37 George E. Saunders 1937-41 Walter F. Morrison 1941-43 Leslie J. Bennett 1944-45 Walter F. Morrison 1945-49 George J. Baker 1949-53 Homer Bruce 1953-55 George J. Baker 1955-63 Byron A. Anderson 1963-74 Mary E. Buchanan 1974-83 Natalie Meyer 1983-95 Victoria Buckley 1995-99 Donetta Davidson 1999-2005 Gigi Dennis 2005-06 Mike Coffman 2007-08

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1994 Nov 8: Victoria Buckley (Rep), elected.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Victoria Buckley (Rep), elected.
  • 1999 Jul 14: Victoria Buckley, died in office.
  • 2005: Gigi Dennis, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CO/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]