The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Colorado: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Colorado, 1877-2007 (May be incomplete!)
Lafayette Head 1877-79 Horace A. W. Tabor 1879-83 William H. Meyer 1883-85 Peter W. Breene 1885-87 Norman H. Meldrum 1887-89 William G. Smith 1889-91 William Story 1891-93 David H. Nichols 1893-95 Jared L. Brush 1895-99 Francis Carney 1899-1901 David C. Coates 1901-02 Warren A. Haggott 1902-03 Jesse F. McDonald 1904-05 Arthur Cornforth 1905 Fred W. Parks 1905-07 Erastus R. Harper 1907-09 Stephen R. Fitzgarrald 1909-15 Moses E. Lewis 1915-17 James A. Pulliam 1917-19 George Stephan 1919-21 Earl Cooley 1921-23 Robert F. Rockwell 1923-25 Sterling Byrd Lacy 1925-27 George Milton Corlett 1927-31 Edwin C. Johnson 1931-32 Raymond Herbert Talbot 1933-37 Frank J. Hayes 1937-39 John C. Vivian 1939-43 William E. Higby 1943-47 Homer L. Pearson 1947-49 Walter W. Johnson 1949-50 Charles P. Murphy 1950 Gordon Allott 1950-55 Stephen L. R. McNichols 1955-57 Frank L. Hays 1957-59 Robert L. Knous 1959-67 Mark A. Hogan 1967-71 John D. Vanderhoof 1971-73 Ted L. Strickland 1973-75 George L. Brown 1975-79 Nancy E. Dick 1979-87 C. Michael Callihan 1987-95 Gail S. Schoettler 1995-99 Barbara O'Brien 2007-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1904: Elias Milton Ammons, defeated.
  • 1906: Elias Milton Ammons, defeated.
  • 1978: Hank Brown, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CO/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]