The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Boulder County

Boulder County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Boulder County (incomplete!): Franklin G. Murphy, as of 1950

Republican Party chairs in Boulder County: [none currently in database]

Boulder County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: John A. Donovan
   1924, New York: Bryant Smith
   1928, Houston: L. C. Paddock
   1936, Philadelphia: Earl Sturdyvin
   1940, Chicago: Ray Lanyon
   1944, Chicago: R. J. Bush
   1948, Philadelphia: R. J. Bush
   1952, Chicago: Franklin G. Murphy
   1956, Chicago: Franklin G. Murphy — Marguerite P. Thompson
   1960, Los Angeles: Fred Pruett
   1968, Chicago: Anne Branscomb — Philip A. Danielson — Rich Gebhardt — Charles B. Howe — Fred Pruett — George C. Williams
   1972, Miami Beach: J.Carlos Lucero — Sandy Roberts — Nancy Smith
   1980, New York: Shiela Carrigan — Katherine Chandley — Phillip Cochran — Dennis Creese — Ethel Harrold — Faye Johnson — Catherine Moyer — Mo Siegel — Alice Winter
   1996, Chicago: Cindy Domenico — Aaron Harber — Peggy Lamm — Sherrie Wolff
   2000, Los Angeles: Mark E. Udall
   2004, Boston: Kim Cohen — Aime Fournier — Josie Heath — Rollie Heath — Jonathan S. Singer — Michael Lee White
   2008, Denver: Shawn L. Coleman — Richard R. Gardner — Maria Handley — Sonya J. Lewis — Sharon A. Malloy — Sacha Millstone — Jonathan S. Singer — Mark E. Udall — Nathan E. Vanderschaaf — Jessica C. Wittmer
Republican National Conventions:
   1876, Cincinnati: Daniel Ransom
   1880, Chicago: John A. Ellet
   1884, Chicago: J. A. Smith
   1888, Chicago: A. M. Safely
   1896, St. Louis: James Cowie
   1904, Chicago: Sylvester S. Downer
   1908, Chicago: A. A. Reed
   1912, Chicago: George W. Johnson
   1920, Chicago: N. R. McCreery
   1924, Cleveland: Charles D. Bromley
   1928, Kansas City: Frank T. Secor
   1932, Chicago: Lillie Knox
   1940, Philadelphia: Gray Secor
   1944, Chicago: John T. Bartlett — Charlotte Wiggins
   1948, Philadelphia: John D. Deets — Charlotte Wiggins
   1952, Chicago: Robert L. Stearns
   1956, San Francisco: John G. Mackie
   1960, Chicago: Lucile Cannon
   1964, San Francisco: Betty M. Chronic — Fern Hennigh
   1972, Miami Beach: Sanders G. Arnold — Robert Cox — Mrs. Robert Michael
   2004, New York: Marty Neilson
   2008, St. Paul: Athena Dalton — LeMoine Dowd — Kevin Holst — Marty Neilson
   2012, Tampa: Bob Beauprez
Socialist National Conventions:
   1960, Washington: Alex Garber
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CO/BO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]