The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
San Francisco city & county

U.S. consular officials in San Francisco city & county

American or honorary foreign consuls in San Francisco

   San Francisco: Albert M. Gilliam (Consul 1843-44)
   Argentina: Wenceslao Y. Loaiza (Consul 1898-1900) Boutwell Dunlap (Vice Consul 1909-30)
   Austria: Karl Christian Weber (Honorary Consul 1950-59)
   Belgium: Wilfrid B. Chapman (Consul 1882-96) J. Simon (Consul as of 1921)
   Bolivia: Francisco Herrera (Consul 1870-77) Carlos Sanjinés (Consul 1908-14)
   Brazil: Archibald Barnard (Vice Consul 1903-07) Finlay Cook (Vice Consul as of 1929) Ludwig Mathias Hoefler (Consul as of 1929)
   Central America: Eustorgio Calderón (Consul General 1897-98)
   Chile: Walter D. Catton (Vice Consul 1888-95) Juan Searle (Consul 1906-07) Mario Illanes Peñafiel (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Colombia: Francisco Herrera (Consul 1867) Adolfo Canal (Consul 1889-98)
   Costa Rica: Francisco Herrera (Consul 1872) Fernando Iglesias (Honorary Consul General as of 1935) Juan Anino (Honorary Consul as of 1935) Fernando Flores Banuet (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Czechoslovakia: Erwin Ladislav Chloupek (Consul as of 1935)
   Denmark: H. H. Birkholm (Consul 1898-1910) Paul Bernhard Ryder (Consul as of 1950)
   Dominican Republic: John Barneson (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1914) John Barneson (Honorary Consul as of 1921-35) William Fisher (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Ecuador: Newton W. Hall (Vice Consul 1891-93) Luis F. Lastreto (Consul 1898-1901) Pablo A. Andrade (Vice Consul 1904-07) Benjamin Mosquera A (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Estonia: Walter E. Hettman (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Finland: Jarl Arthur Lindfors (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Great Britain: Wellesley Moore (Vice Consul 1891-1914)
   Guatemala: Augusto Castillo Lara (Honorary Consul as of 1931-35) Alfredo Toriello, Jr. (Honorary Consul as of 1931)
   Haiti: B. C. Bremer (Honorary Consul as of 1931-35)
   Honduras: William V. Wells (Honorary Consul General 1855-76) Newton W. Hall (Vice Consul 1891-93) Eustorgio Calderón (Consul General 1899-1901) Eustorgio Calderón (Honorary Consul 1909-11)
   Iceland: Steingrimur O. Thorlaksson (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Latvia: Harry Willard Glensor (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Liberia: Ray P. Saffold (Consul 1902-07)
   Mexico: Alexander K. Coney (Consul General 1886-1901)
   Monaco: Ray P. Saffold (Consul as of 1921) Roger Bocqueraz (Honorary Consul as of 1935) Paul Verdier (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   Netherlands: Wilfrid B. Chapman (Consul 1901) H. A. van Coenen Torchiana (Honorary Consul General as of 1935)
   Nicaragua: Francisco Herrera (Consul General 1870-77) William L. Merry (Consul General 1891-96) Luis F. Lastreto (Consul 1899-1900) Luis F. Lastreto (Consul General 1901) Alexander Singer (Vice Consul as of 1921) Teresa Argüello Tefel (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Panama: Francisco Jimenez (Consul as of 1921) José E. de Ycaza (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1921) Ovidio Sosa (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935-50) Jose Fidanque (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Paraguay: Max Clements Richter (Honorary Consul as of 1921) Roberto J. Wilkinson (Honorary Consul General as of 1948) Armin Francisco Josué Wilkinson (Honorary Consul as of 1948) Ejgill Toke Nyegaard (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1948) William Caubu (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1948)
   Persia: Thomas W. Firby (Honorary Consul 1923-32)
   Peru: Josef Sigall (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Portugal: Francis Berton (Consul 1869-85) Henrique Laidley (Vice Consul 1870-1904) Francis Berton (Consul 1885-UZ ) Henrique Laidley (Vice Consul 1904-UZ ) G. Armas do Amaral (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Russia: M. Klinkowstroem (Vice Consul as of 1868) Horace G. Platt (Vice Consul 1892-1901)
   Salvador: Eustorgio Calderón (Consul 1895-96)
   Siam: Henry G. W. Dinkelspiel (Consul as of 1921) Martin J. Dinkelspiel (Vice Consul as of 1926-35) Henry G. W. Dinkelspiel (Consul General as of 1926) John W. Dinkelspiel (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Spain: Orel Martin Goldaracena y Echevarria (Honorary Vice Consul 1902-07) Arturo Brand (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1914-21) Marcos Gracia Palacio (Honorary Consular Agent as of 1935)
   Switzerland: Francis Berton (Consul 1867-85) Francis Berton (Consul 1885-UZ ) Guillaume Schwyter (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1926) John Freuler (Honorary Consul as of 1929)
   Thailand: John W. Dinkelspiel (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1940-50) Martin J. Dinkelspiel (Honorary Consul as of 1940) Martin J. Dinkelspiel (Honorary Consul General as of 1950)
   Turkey: George E. Hall (Consul General 1897-1907) Maurice Hall (Honorary Consul as of 1914)
   Uruguay: J. Dalzell Brown (Honorary Consul 1907) Manuel Rivera (Honorary Consul as of 1934-40) Humberto Viglione (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1948)
   Venezuela: Adolfo Canal (Honorary Consul 1896-1906) Joseph Lander Eastland (Consul 1906-17) William Fisher (Honorary Consul 1918-29) P. Obarrio (Honorary Vice Consul 1929-32) Carlos Alberto Arismendi (Honorary Vice Consul 1933-50)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/sf-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]