The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
California: Chief Justices of the Supreme Court

Chief Justices of the California Supreme Court, 1849-1998 (May be incomplete!)
S. Clinton Hastings 1849-51 Henry A. Lyons 1852 Hugh C. Murray 1852-57 David S. Terry 1857-59 Stephen J. Field 1859-63 Warner W. Cope 1863 Silas W. Sanderson 1864-70 Lorenzo Sawyer 1868-69 Jackson Temple 1870-72 Addison C. Niles 1872-80 Robert F. Morrison 1880-87 Niles Searls 1887-88 William H. Beatty 1888-1914 Matt I. Sullivan 1914-15 Frank M. Angellotti 1915-21 Lucien Shaw 1921-23 Curtis Dwight Wilbur 1923-24 Louis Westcott Myers 1924-26 William H. Waste 1926-40 Phil S. Gibson 1940-64 Roger J. Traynor 1964-70 Donald R. Wright 1970-77 Rose Bird 1977-87 Malcolm M. Lucas 1987-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1856: James H. Ralston (Dem), defeated.
  • 1857 Sep 18: Hugh C. Murray, died in office.
  • 1887 Mar 2: Robert F. Morrison, died in office.
  • 1888: William H. Beatty, elected.
  • 1914 Aug 4: William H. Beatty, died in office.
  • 1986: Rose Bird, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/spcj.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]