The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
California: 1933 Convention to Ratify the 21st Amendment

Delegates to Convention to Ratify the 21st Amendment, 1933 (May be incomplete!)
Earle C. Anthony 1933 Asa V. Call 1933 Hamilton H. Cotton 1933 John T. Gaffey 1933 Bertrand W. Gearhart 1933 Byron C. Hanna 1933 Roy M. Hardy 1933 Henry E. Harwood 1933 Imogene G. Hook 1933 William B. Hornblower 1933 R. L. Hughes 1933 William Moseley Jones 1933 Edward J. Kelly 1933 Grace Montgomery 1933 Samuel F. B. Morse 1933 James M. Murphy 1933 Gurney E. Newlin 1933 John A. Parma 1933 Sheridan Peterson 1933 Roland G. Swaffield 1933 Felton Taylor 1933 Patrick M. Walker 1933

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1933 Jun 27: Bertrand W. Gearhart (Wet), elected; Hamilton H. Cotton (Wet), elected; Samuel F. B. Morse (Wet), elected; Sheridan Peterson (Wet), elected; Roy M. Hardy (Wet), elected; James M. Murphy (Wet), elected; Felton Taylor (Wet), elected; William B. Hornblower (Wet), elected; Henry E. Harwood (Wet), elected; Grace Montgomery (Wet), elected; R. L. Hughes (Wet), elected; John A. Parma (Wet), elected; Patrick M. Walker (Wet), elected; Eleanor B. MacFarland (Wet), elected, but did not serve; Earle C. Anthony (Wet), elected; Gurney E. Newlin (Wet), elected; Byron C. Hanna (Wet), elected; Asa V. Call (Wet), elected; John T. Gaffey (Wet), elected; Roland G. Swaffield (Wet), elected; Imogene G. Hook (Wet), elected; Edward J. Kelly (Wet), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/cr21.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]