The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
California: State Attorneys General

California State Attorneys General, 1849-2017 (May be incomplete!)
Edward J. C. Kewan 1849-50 James A. McDougall 1850-51 S. Clinton Hastings 1852-54 John R. McConnell 1854 William M. Stewart 1854-56 William T. Wallace 1856-58 Thomas H. Williams 1858-62 Frank M. Pixley 1862-63 John G. McCullough 1863-67 Jo Hamilton 1867-71 John Lord Love 1871-75 Jo Hamilton 1875-80 Augustus L. Hart 1880-83 Edward Colston Marshall 1883-87 George A. Johnson 1887-91 William H. H. Hart 1891-95 William F. Fitzgerald 1895-99 Tirey L. Ford 1899-1902 Ulysses S. Webb 1902-39 Earl Warren 1939-43 Robert W. Kenny 1943-47 Fred N. Howser 1947-51 Edmund G. Brown, Sr. 1951-59 Stanley Mosk 1959-64 Thomas C. Lynch 1964-71 Evelle J. Younger 1971-79 George Deukmejian 1979-83 John Van de Camp 1983-91 Dan Lungren 1991-99 Bill Lockyer 1999-2006 Edmund G. Brown, Jr. 2007-10 Kamala D. Harris 2011-17

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1850 Aug 9: Edward J. C. Kewan, resigned.
  • 1910: Wallace Monroe Pence (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1938: Claude A. Watson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1942: Claude A. Watson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1946: Claude A. Watson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1958: Patrick J. Hillings (Rep), defeated; Stanley Mosk (Dem), elected.
  • 1962: Stanley Mosk (Dem), elected.
  • 1978: Yvonne B. Burke (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1990: Dan Lungren (Rep), elected.
  • 1998: Diane Beall Templin (American Independent), defeated.
  • 2002: Diane Beall Templin (American Independent), defeated.
  • 2006: Edmund G. Brown, Jr. (Dem), elected.
  • 2010: Kamala D. Harris (Dem), elected.
  • 2014: Kamala D. Harris (Dem), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]