The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ventura County

Ventura County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Ventura County (incomplete!): Marion R. Walker, 1946-50

Republican Party chairs in Ventura County (incomplete!): Tom McClintock, 1979-81

Ventura County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1944, Chicago: Fred H. Crone
   1948, Philadelphia: Edward Kraus
   1956, Chicago: Goldie Kennedy — William K. Stewart — Jane M. Tolmach
   1960, Los Angeles: Rex M. Cunningham — Goldie Kennedy — Irwin J. Nebron — Jane M. Tolmach
   1964, Atlantic City: James C. Basile — James A. Browning, Jr. — Burt M. Henson — Jane M. Tolmach — George Wagner
   1968, Chicago: Bob H. Jennings — Jane M. Tolmach
   1972, Miami Beach: Stephen Herzog — Linda Rae Valentino
   1988, Atlanta: Ed Begley, Jr. — Virginia M. Connell — Barry L. Hammitt — Lucianne Ranni — Jane M. Tolmach
   1996, Chicago: Francisco Dominguez — William P. Gallaher — Robert Gallaway — Ann Rosser
   2004, Boston: Joan Adams — Deborah Sutherland
   2008, Denver: Sandra K. Emberland — Richard E. Gunther — Maricela P. Morales — Karin K. Quimby
Republican National Conventions:
   1884, Chicago: Thomas R. Bard
   1908, Chicago: Henry T. Oxnard
   1912, Chicago: Robert M. Clarke
   1920, Chicago: D. J. Reese
   1924, Cleveland: Richard Bard — Charles Collins Teague
   1928, Kansas City: Charles Collins Teague
   1932, Chicago: A. C. Hardison — Charles Collins Teague
   1936, Cleveland: Charles F. Blackstock
   1944, Chicago: Ward Daniels
   1952, Chicago: Elzo L. Van Dellen
   1956, San Francisco: Charles M. Teague
   1960, Chicago: William A. Lucking, Jr.
   1964, San Francisco: Katherine Hoffman Haley — Donald Wilder
   1972, Miami Beach: Cyrus Johnson — Charles R. McGrath — Randolph Siple
   1988, New Orleans: Elton Gallegly
   2004, New York: Dianne Alexander — Glen Becerra — Steve Frank
   2008, St. Paul: Dianne Alexander — C. Neal Andrews — Glen Becerra — Peter Foy — Dean Graham — David Spady
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/VE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]