The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
San Mateo County

San Mateo County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in San Mateo County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in San Mateo County: [none currently in database]

San Mateo County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1916, St. Louis: Franklin Swart
   1924, New York: Daniel C. Imboden
   1928, Houston: Cecelia C. Casserly
   1936, Philadelphia: John J. McGrath
   1944, Chicago: Albert Ichelson — Mervyn Rathbone
   1948, Philadelphia: Julius Castelan — Elinor R. Heller — Frank G. Pellett
   1952, Chicago: Emmett Campion — Jeanne Levey — Frances K. Otto — Frank G. Pellett — Frank W. Rose
   1956, Chicago: Anthony G. Ballerini — Betty Cook — Joseph L. Eichler — Geraldine L. Hardin — Clarence E. Heller — Elinor R. Heller — Carl Jones — Helen K. Milbank
   1960, Los Angeles: Frederick G. Dutton — Joseph L. Eichler — David Freidenberg — Geraldine L. Hardin — Edward H. Heller — Joseph C. Houghteling
   1964, Atlantic City: Albert G. Boardman — Robert Haynie — Clarence E. Heller — Gerald D. Marcus — Merritt G. Snyder
   1968, Chicago: John H. Bunzel — Galen W. Holsinger — Joseph C. Houghteling — Robert T. Jones, Jr. — Denis J. Michaud — Leo J. Ryan — Adolph P. Schuman — Merritt G. Snyder
   1972, Miami Beach: Ann Peabody Brown — Carl Djerassi — Edward P. Eichler — Janice C. Fulford — Beth Labson — Richard M. Meagher — Robert R. Smith — Dyanna L. Varich — Jean Whitaker
   1988, Atlanta: Elena M. Becks — Linda Boitano — Clifford M. Boxley — Alice P. Bulos — Martin Carnoy — Marie H. Davis — Patrick Duterte — Anna G. Eshoo — Ralph Flynn — Noreene Koan — Pat H. Luce-Aoelua — Lou Papan — Steve Westly
   1996, Chicago: Alice P. Bulos — Carolyn E. Doggett — Gilbert K. Dong, Jr. — Anna G. Eshoo — Mark Fitzpatrick — May T. Gee — Maxine Gonsalves — Lynette Huth — Perla G. Ibarrientos — Mary Lois Tinson — Steve Westly — Peter K. Zachos
   2000, Los Angeles: Carolyn E. Doggett — Anna G. Eshoo — Tom Lantos — Steve Westly — Peter K. Zachos
   2004, Boston: Laurel Bonn — Andrew Cassidy — Marie H. Davis — Carolyn E. Doggett — Anna G. Eshoo — Michelle Kraus — Sandra Lang — Tom Lantos — Bradford Lyau — David A. Sanchez — April Vargas — Steve Westly — Noah Yago — Peter K. Zachos
   2008, Denver: John E. Beaumont — Mark I. Brickman — Raymond Buenaventura — Joseph M. DeBono — Carolyn E. Doggett — Eileen C. Donahoe — Anna G. Eshoo — Richard S. Gordon — Christopher P. Nichols — Lilli J. Rey — John V. Roos — David A. Sanchez — Richard Thesing — April Vargas — Steve Westly
Republican National Conventions:
   1892, Minneapolis: Charles N. Felton
   1908, Chicago: George C. Ross
   1916, Chicago: Charles T. Crocker
   1920, Chicago: William H. Crocker — R. E. Miller
   1924, Cleveland: William H. Crocker
   1936, Cleveland: William L. Van Antwerp
   1940, Philadelphia: Bradford M. Melvin
   1944, Chicago: Glenn R. Baker — Charles R. Blyth
   1948, Philadelphia: Murray Draper
   1952, Chicago: Harry A. Mitchell — Michael B. O'Connor — William M. Werder
   1956, San Francisco: Charles R. Blyth — Aylett R. Cotton — John W. Dinkelspiel — Robert Higgins — Frank E. Jorgensen — J. Arthur Younger
   1960, Chicago: Eugene J. Brenner — Aylett R. Cotton — John W. Dinkelspiel — Richard J. Dolwig — Richard J. Elkus — Lucile Hosmer — Caspar W. Weinberger
   1964, San Francisco: Richard W. Dorst — Lucile Hosmer — Dave Keyston — Beulah MacDonald
   1972, Miami Beach: Dixon Arnett — Louis P. Athas — Lester Blake Baldwin — Bruce H. Hasenkamp — Robert W. Naylor
   1992, Houston: Martin Anderson — Michael Boskin — Bob Naylor
   2004, New York: Annelise Anderson
   2008, St. Paul: Neal Kaufman — Mike Maletic — Sean McAvoy — Chuck McDougald — Michael Moe — Margaret Whitman — Deborah Wilder
   2012, Tampa: Griff Harsh — Robert Wickers
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/SM-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]