The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
San Joaquin County

San Joaquin County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in San Joaquin County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in San Joaquin County: [none currently in database]

San Joaquin County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Lewis R. Bradley
   1876, St. Louis: F. T. Baldwin
   1912, Baltimore: Hubert R. McNoble
   1916, St. Louis: George E. Catts
   1920, San Francisco: George E. Catts
   1928, Houston: George E. Catts
   1932, Chicago: Thomas J. Garner
   1944, Chicago: Floyd A. Klinger
   1948, Philadelphia: Floyd A. Klinger
   1952, Chicago: Joseph D. Michael — Herbert H. Milford
   1956, Chicago: Donald D. Boscoe — Hollie W. Crawford — John Zuckerman
   1960, Los Angeles: Hollie W. Crawford — John J. McFall — Alan Short
   1964, Atlantic City: Joseph A. Barkett — Donald D. Boscoe — John J. McFall — Robert Rishwain
   1968, Chicago: Seldon R. Graham — William Montgomery — Leonard W. Pores — Alan Short
   1972, Miami Beach: David R. Bennet — Lucia R. Dugliss — Barbara White — Ralph White — Judy Williams
   1988, Atlanta: Sandra L. Carter — Kaye W. Kwake — W. Arthur Raab — Ralph White
   1996, Chicago: James Askew — Margaret Burroughs — Marvette Burroughs, Jr. — Jones M. Moore — Jennifer Padron — Janet Rivera
   2004, Boston: James Askew — William Casey — Gayorgiahne Fridman — Stella Lopez — Arthur Murrillo — Ronald Peterson
   2008, Denver: Lea Austin — Arthur Murrillo
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: H. S. Sargent
   1876, Cincinnati: George S. Evans
   1880, Chicago: J. K. Doak
   1888, Chicago: A. W. Simpson
   1892, Minneapolis: N. Sposati
   1912, Chicago: Charles L. Neumiller
   1920, Chicago: Charles L. Neumiller — John M. Perry
   1924, Cleveland: F. S. Israel
   1928, Kansas City: Charles L. Neumiller
   1932, Chicago: Cecil P. Rendon
   1936, Cleveland: J. Leroy Johnson
   1944, Chicago: Warren H. Atherton
   1948, Philadelphia: Warren H. Atherton — J. Leroy Johnson
   1952, Chicago: Warren H. Atherton — J. Leroy Johnson
   1956, San Francisco: Maxwell M. Willens
   1960, Chicago: Thomas F. Brewer — James M. Cless
   1964, San Francisco: Harry R. Rivinius — W. Robert Sawyer
   1972, Miami Beach: Irenemaree Castillo — Thomas Madden
   2008, St. Paul: Dean Andal — Javier Rameriz — West Walker
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/SJ-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]