The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Monterey County

Monterey County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Monterey County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Monterey County: [none currently in database]

Monterey County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: D. S. Gregory
   1912, Baltimore: J. A. Bardin
   1928, Houston: J. A. Bardin
   1932, Chicago: Russell Scott — Mrs. Russell Scott
   1944, Chicago: Horace Dormody — Michael Power
   1948, Philadelphia: Horace Dormody
   1952, Chicago: Niles C. Cunningham — Zum Speegle
   1956, Chicago: John E. Craige
   1960, Los Angeles: Fred S. Farr — William Smart
   1964, Atlantic City: Fred S. Farr — Vaughn Parsons — Robert W. Tuttle
   1968, Chicago: Efrain Anzaldua — Alan D. Becker — Robert J. Bowersox — Eugene Epstein — Mary R. Green — H. L. Lusk — Lee Stein
   1972, Miami Beach: Pearl M. Carey — Mary R. Green — Daniel Q. Maldonado
   1988, Atlanta: Sam P. Karas — Ira Jones Lively — Catherine C. O'Boyle — Jesse G. Sanchez
   1996, Chicago: Catherine C. O'Boyle — Shirley Prussin — Samuel Ramos
   2000, Los Angeles: Sam Farr
   2004, Boston: R. H. Bergstresser — Kristine Edmunds — Sam Farr — Doreen McEluany — Thomas Petersen
   2008, Denver: Shawn K. Bagley — Anna M. Caballero — Sam Farr
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Carlisle S. Abbott
   1876, Cincinnati: M. E. Gonzales
   1888, Chicago: Paris Kilburn
   1896, St. Louis: Thomas J. Field
   1908, Chicago: J. R. Hebbron
   1936, Cleveland: Samuel F. B. Morse
   1940, Philadelphia: F. E. Dayton — Samuel F. B. Morse
   1944, Chicago: Samuel F. B. Morse — Edward H. Tickle
   1948, Philadelphia: Peggy Marquard — Samuel F. B. Morse
   1952, Chicago: Alan G. Pattee
   1956, San Francisco: Harry E. Crean — Allen Griffin
   1960, Chicago: Allen Griffin — George L. Tomlinson
   1964, San Francisco: Jeffrey Bedell — Erik Hobar — Paul McKinstry
   1972, Miami Beach: Clint Eastwood — Mark A. Schimbor — William H. Temple
   2004, New York: Victoria Anne Casacca — Peter Newman
   2008, St. Paul: Peter Newman — Theresa Newman
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/MY-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]