The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Marin County

Marin County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Marin County (incomplete!): Samuel W. Gardiner, 1948-51

Republican Party chairs in Marin County: [none currently in database]

Marin County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Thomas O'Connor
   1944, Chicago: Samuel W. Gardiner — Thomas F. Keating
   1948, Philadelphia: Samuel W. Gardiner
   1952, Chicago: Mrs. Temple Dick — Samuel W. Gardiner — Vera L. Schultz
   1956, Chicago: Roger Kent — William M. Roth — Elizabeth R. Smith — Nancy Strawbridge
   1960, Los Angeles: Roger Kent — Harold Morgan — William M. Roth — Nancy Swadesh
   1964, Atlantic City: Elizabeth R. Gatov — Roger Kent — Melvin Ury
   1968, Chicago: June Degnan — William Taylor — Vivian Walter
   1972, Miami Beach: William M. Bennett — Wyanne Bunyan — Ruthann Corwin — June Degnan — Phillip Drath — Mrs. Neal S. Kent — Richard C. Sloan
   1988, Atlanta: Barbara Boxer — Philip A. Schaefer — Frank Scott — David N. Strand — Gail Wilhelm
   1996, Chicago: Barbara Boxer — Christy Carpenter — Rosario Carr-Casanova — Clarence Clemens — Peter Coyote — Placido Salazar — Philip A. Schaefer — Susie Tompkins — Stephen Warner — Martha Whetstone
   2004, Boston: Paul Apffel — Paul M. Cohen — Damon Connolly — Helen Hammond — Susan Kennedy — Vanessa Logan — Joe Nation — Richard Rubin — Dawn Weathersby
   2008, Denver: Wendy L. Baker — Greg Brockbank — Paul M. Cohen — Patricia B. Goss — Derek P. Knell — Marlene L. Knox — Thomas M. McInerney — Norman Solomon
Republican National Conventions:
   1908, Chicago: S. M. Augustine
   1912, Chicago: William Kent
   1920, Chicago: James A. Johnston
   1932, Chicago: Amanda C. Crooks — Harry Lutgens — Mrs. M. F. Pettit
   1940, Philadelphia: Harry Lutgens
   1948, Philadelphia: T. Frederick Bagshaw
   1956, San Francisco: Clem Whitaker
   1960, Chicago: John F. McCarthy — Elmer S. Worlund
   1964, San Francisco: William O. Weissich
   1972, Miami Beach: Cydney Buisson — Paul R. Haerle — Thomas C. Reed
   2004, New York: John Duncan — Fred Lowell
   2008, St. Paul: Tony Helfet
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/MR-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]