The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kern County

Kern County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Kern County (incomplete!): Arthur A. Arvizu, 1964-66

Republican Party chairs in Kern County: [none currently in database]

Kern County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Charles A. Barlow — Fred Hall
   1920, San Francisco: Charles A. Barlow
   1928, Houston: George Hay
   1932, Chicago: Clarrise Haberfelde Reavis
   1936, Philadelphia: Charles P. Martin
   1944, Chicago: Daniel Harris — Donald G. Kendall
   1948, Philadelphia: Dorothy T. LeConte — Beatrice Shilkrout
   1952, Chicago: Donald G. Kendall — Rex F. Whittemore
   1956, Chicago: Thomas B. Reese — Erwin Shrier — Edwin W. Wilson
   1960, Los Angeles: Dorothy M. Donahoe — Erwin Shrier — Walter W. Stiern — Ross Zachary
   1964, Atlantic City: James Y. Camp — Robert M. Castle — John C. Williamson
   1968, Chicago: Arthur A. Arvizu — Joe Banducci — Robert M. Castle — Cesar Chavez — Ruth Gelman — Dolores C. Huerta — Robert Setrakian — Rod Williams — Milton Younger
   1972, Miami Beach: Arthur A. Arvizu — Mary Barnes — Richard Chavez — Delores Deans — Dolores C. Huerta — Larry Itliong — Robert Richardson
   1988, Atlanta: Bernice Bonillas — Irma Carson — Dolores C. Huerta — Lita Reid — V. David Strong, Jr. — Gene Tackett — Daniel Ybarra — Lori Huerta Ybarra
   1996, Chicago: Dolores C. Huerta — Stephen Schilling — Renee M. Westa-Lusk
   2000, Los Angeles: Renee M. Westa-Lusk
   2004, Boston: Bernice Bonillas — Beatriz Campos — Mercedes Farmer — Dean R. Florez — Elsa O. Florez — Fran Florez — George Quick — Arturo Rodriguez — Michael Rubio — Renee M. Westa-Lusk
   2008, Denver: Dean R. Florez — Elsa O. Florez — Dolores C. Huerta — Bernita M. Jenkins — Vanessa J. Lugo — Uduak E. Ntuk — Dora Rubio — Resham Singh
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: Charles Sherman
   1892, Minneapolis: W. H. Scribner
   1896, St. Louis: W. H. McKillrick
   1924, Cleveland: A. C. Crites
   1928, Kansas City: Arthur S. Crites
   1932, Chicago: Wilford L. Adkisson
   1936, Cleveland: Arthur S. Crites
   1940, Philadelphia: Arthur S. Crites
   1944, Chicago: Arthur S. Crites — Mrs. Albert S. Goode
   1948, Philadelphia: Arthur S. Crites — Margaret C. Goode
   1952, Chicago: Arthur S. Crites — Ysabel H. Forker
   1956, San Francisco: Arthur S. Crites — Ysabel H. Forker
   1960, Chicago: Roland Curran — Walter Kane
   1964, San Francisco: George A. Brown — Mary K. Hosking — Leonard S. Thomson
   1972, Miami Beach: Mrs. William H. Brock — John G. Giumarra, Jr.
   1992, Houston: Jackie Harvey
   2004, New York: Karen A. DeWalt
   2008, St. Paul: Kevin McCarthy — Phil Wyman
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/KE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]