The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Contra Costa County

Contra Costa County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Contra Costa County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Contra Costa County: [none currently in database]

Contra Costa County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1916, St. Louis: Lee D. Windrem
   1936, Philadelphia: Clifford C. Anglim
   1940, Chicago: John L. Garaventa
   1944, Chicago: Harold F. Sawallisch
   1948, Philadelphia: John L. Garaventa — S. C. Masterson
   1952, Chicago: Eric E. Carter — Bert Coffey — Robert Condon — George Miller, Jr. — C. A. Ricks
   1956, Chicago: Archibald B. Allison — George Miller, Jr. — Martin E. Rothenberg
   1960, Los Angeles: Mary McKeown — George Miller, Jr.
   1964, Atlantic City: Raymond P. Chapot — Thomas Coll — John T. Knox — George Miller, Jr. — Arthur A. Pennebaker — David Pierce — Jerome R. Waldie
   1968, Chicago: Roger F. Ellingson — Ezekiel Griffin — Edward Kenney — Douglas E. Lord — Gary Parker — Augusta Rhone — Susan D. Werbe
   1972, Miami Beach: James E. Boman — Lucinda Brown — Jacqueline Camp — William W. Fjellbo — Sue Grabowski — Stephen A. Hamill — Betty L. Reid — Pete Stark — Carolina Zamora
   1988, Atlanta: Bobbie J. Arnold — Bert Coffey — Rosemary M. Corbin — Lisa Jaye Evans — Judith Kanter — Thomas J. Koch — Charles Mack III — John E. Marquez — George Miller — Joseph Miller — Nagaraja R. Rao — Mark A. Ross — Marshall Walker III
   1996, Chicago: Pamela J. Aguilar — Gregory Bedard — Evelyn J. Centeno — Gary Eberhart — Timothy Farley — Arlynne L. Faulks — Marion Goodman — Aleita J. Huguenin — George Miller — Shirley Nelson — LaWanna Preston — Nagaraja R. Rao — John Schreiber — Nancy C. Solomon — Marshall Walker III
   2000, Los Angeles: George Miller — Nagaraja R. Rao
   2004, Boston: Bryan Berthiaume — Gary Cortes — Charles Couric — Constance Esters — Jeremiah Hallisey — Lynda C. Kilday — George Miller — Sandra Ruliffson — Tanisha Sandhu — Cliff Souza — Ellen O. Tauscher — Ernest Winslow — Laura Winslow
   2008, Denver: Maria L. Alegria — Patricia A. Baran — Maria Blanco — Ana Marie G. Bustos — Robert D. Camacho — Kranti A. Kapre — Lynda C. Kilday — Kathleen R. Klein — George Miller — Lou Paulson — Nagaraja R. Rao — Ken Richard — Harpreet S. Sandhu — David M. Seaborg — Ellen O. Tauscher — Tony K. Thurmond
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: James Foster
   1888, Chicago: Marco B. Ivory
   1908, Chicago: George H. Ward
   1912, Chicago: Sumner Crosby
   1916, Chicago: R. R. Veale
   1924, Cleveland: W. M. Veale
   1928, Kansas City: James F. Hoey
   1932, Chicago: Thomas M. Carlson
   1936, Cleveland: Philip Bancroft — Marc LeDuc
   1940, Philadelphia: Mrs. A. F. Bray — Thomas M. Carlson
   1944, Chicago: Thomas M. Carlson
   1948, Philadelphia: Arthur W. Carlson — Truman H. DeLap
   1952, Chicago: Gertrude Allen — Truman H. DeLap — George H. Weise
   1956, San Francisco: Truman H. DeLap — Donald D. Doyle
   1960, Chicago: Viola Krotz — Luther H. Lincoln — Jack Pedder
   1964, San Francisco: Morris Browning — Viola Krotz — Kay Valory
   1972, Miami Beach: Joe Duffel — Harlan S. Geldermann — Sue Jelonek — Elizabeth McCormac — Kay Valory
   1992, Houston: John Herrington — Jean Meredith
   2004, New York: Rochelle Bird — Kris Lesher-Aring — Vishwas More — George Opacic — Kyle Vallone
   2008, St. Paul: Richard Hallock — John Herrington — Donald Nelson — Mary Payton
   2012, Tampa: Tom Del Beccaro
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/CC-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]