The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Alameda County

Politicians who were born in Alameda County

  Alameda County (no city given): William H. Langdon, 1873
  Alameda: Joseph R. Knowland, 1873 — E. Carleton Baker, 1882 — Frank M. Jordan, 1888 — William F. Knowland, 1908 — Matt Fong, 1953
  Berkeley: G. Frederick Reinhardt, 1911 — Robert Condon, 1912 — John A. Calhoun, 1918 — Rodger Paul Davies, 1921 — Malcolm M. Lucas, 1927 — Karan English, 1949
  Brooklyn (now part of Oakland): Fred S. Bynon, 1870
  Castro Valley: Dean Heller, 1960
  Fremont: Bill Harrison, c.1972
  Hayward: Sumiko Biderman, 1924
  Oakland, year not specified: Bennett Archambault — Khadijah Jacob-Fambro
  Oakland, 1800-1899: Walter D. Catton, 1856 — William J. McCracken, 1878 — Clyde Doyle, 1887 — Frank M. Dixon, 1892 — Oliver Deveta Hamlin, Jr., 1892 — Rudolph A. Schausten, 1898 — John J. Allen, Jr., 1899
  Oakland, 1900-1999: Jack Z. Anderson, 1904 — Frank P. Adams, 1908 — Walter Early Craig, 1909 — John F. Baldwin, Jr., 1915 — Robert S. McNamara, 1916 — Don Mulford, c.1916 — Lloyd H. Burke, 1916 — Milton Lewis Schwartz, 1920 — Nicholas C. Petris, 1923 — Bennett Archambault — Edwin Meese III, 1931 — Alfreda Abbott, 1931 — Ronald V. Dellums, 1935 — William B. Shubb, 1938 — James Keith Singleton, Jr., 1939 — Bill Baker, 1940 — Sharon Percy Rockefeller, 1944 — Saundra Brown Armstrong, 1947 — B. Joseph Fuhrig, 1947 — Randall D. Sprague, 1949 — Jay S. Bybee, 1953 — Edward M. Chen, 1953 — Richard C. Tallman, 1953 — John A. Mendez, 1955 — David M. McIntosh, 1958 — Kamala D. Harris, 1964 — Khadijah Jacob-Fambro
  Piedmont: Fred S. Farr, 1910
  San Leandro: Lloyd Bridges, 1913
   See also California birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/AL-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]