The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Arizona: Governors

Governors of Arizona, 1911-2014 (May be incomplete!)
George W. P. Hunt 1912-17 Thomas E. Campbell 1917 George W. P. Hunt 1917-19 Thomas E. Campbell 1919-23 George W. P. Hunt 1923-29 John C. Phillips 1929-31 George W. P. Hunt 1931-33 Benjamin B. Moeur 1933-37 R. C. Stanford 1937-39 Robert T. Jones 1939-41 Sidney P. Osborn 1941-48 Dan E. Garvey 1948-51 Howard Pyle 1951-55 Ernest W. McFarland 1955-59 Paul J. Fannin 1959-65 Sam Goddard 1965-67 John R. Williams 1967-75 Raul H. Castro 1975-77 H. Wesley Bolin 1977-78 Bruce Babbitt 1978-87 Evan Mecham 1987-88 Rose Mofford 1988-91 Fife Symington III 1991-97 Jane Dee Hull 1997-2003 Janet Napolitano 2003-09 Jan Brewer 2009-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1911 Dec 12: George W. P. Hunt, elected.
  • 1924 Nov 4: George W. P. Hunt (Dem), elected; Dwight B. Heard (Rep), defeated.
  • 1926 Sep 7: George W. P. Hunt (Dem), nominated; Everett E. Ellinwood (Dem), defeated in primary; J. J. Cox (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1926 Sep 7: E. S. Clark (Rep), nominated; Thomas Maddock (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1926 Nov 2: George W. P. Hunt (Dem), elected; E. S. Clark (Rep), defeated.
  • 1928 Sep 11: John C. Phillips (Rep), nominated; John H. Udall (Rep), defeated in primary; Celora M. Stoddard (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1928 Nov 6: John C. Phillips (Rep), elected.
  • 1932 Sep 13: George W. P. Hunt (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Lawrence McGivern (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1934 Sep 11: Benjamin B. Moeur (Dem), nominated; R. C. Stanford (Dem), defeated in primary; George W. P. Hunt (Dem), defeated in primary; James Minotto (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Benjamin B. Moeur (Dem), elected; Thomas Maddock (Rep), defeated; Lawrence McGivern (Socialist), defeated; Clay Naff (Communist), defeated.
  • 1936: Thomas E. Campbell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1938: Sidney P. Osborn, defeated.
  • 1948: Richard F. Harless (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1948: Dan E. Garvey (Dem), elected.
  • 1948 May 25: Sidney P. Osborn, died in office.
  • 1950: Dan E. Garvey (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1950: Ralph Watkins (Dem), defeated.
  • 1958: Robert Morrison (Dem), defeated.
  • 1962: Sam Goddard (Dem), defeated.
  • 1964: Evan Mecham (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1964: Sam Goddard (Dem), elected; Richard G. Kleindienst (Rep), defeated.
  • 1966: Sam Goddard (Dem), defeated.
  • 1968: Sam Goddard (Dem), defeated.
  • 1974: Evan Mecham (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1974 Nov 5: Raul H. Castro (Dem), elected; Russ Williams (Rep), defeated; Wonderful Russ Shaw, defeated.
  • 1977 Oct 20: Raul H. Castro, resigned.
  • 1978: Evan Mecham (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978 Mar 4: H. Wesley Bolin, died in office.
  • 1982: Evan Mecham (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1990: Terry Goddard (Dem), defeated.
  • 1994: Terry Goddard (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1994: Eddie Basha (Dem), defeated.
  • 1997 Sep 5: Fife Symington III, resigned.
  • 1998 Sep 8: Paul Johnson (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Sep 8: Jane Dee Hull (Rep), nominated; Jim Howl (Rep), defeated in primary; Charles Brown (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Sep 8: Scott Alan Malcomson (Reform), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Sep 8: Katherine Gallant (Libertarian), nominated; Tom Rawles (Libertarian), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Jane Dee Hull (Rep), elected; Paul Johnson (Dem), defeated; Katherine Gallant (Libertarian), defeated; Scott Alan Malcomson (Reform), defeated; Alan White, defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Janet Napolitano (Dem), elected; Matt Salmon (Rep), defeated; Richard Mahoney (Ind), defeated; Barry J. Hess II (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2014: Ken Bennett (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AZ/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]