The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Jefferson County

Jefferson County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Jefferson County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Jefferson County (incomplete!): Greg Gustek, as of 2003

Jefferson County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1916, St. Louis: W. T. Wooldridge
   1924, New York: Creed Caldwell — Harvey C. Couch — George W. List
   1928, Houston: Harvey C. Couch — George W. List — Mrs. B. L. Willy
   1936, Philadelphia: Harvey C. Couch — Mrs. Merlin Moore
   1940, Chicago: Harvey C. Couch
   1944, Chicago: Harvey Horton — Sam M. Levine
   1948, Philadelphia: Sam M. Levine
   1952, Chicago: Sam M. Levine — P. H. Mullis
   1956, Chicago: Pat Mullis
   1968, Chicago: Lawrence Davis — Tim Massanelli — Stanley McNulty, Jr. — Henry Wilkins, Jr.
   1996, Chicago: Jay Bradford — Earnest E. Brown, Jr. — Jacqueline J. Roberts
   2004, Boston: Lula Gray — Hank Wilkins
   2008, Denver: Stephanie Flowers — Carl Redus, Jr. — Brandon Robinson
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Oliver P. Snyder
   1876, Cincinnati: R. A. Dawson — Oliver P. Snyder — J. F. Vaughn
   1880, Chicago: Ferdinand Havis — S. J. Hollingsworth — Oliver P. Snyder — Oscar M. Spellman
   1884, Chicago: Ferdinand Havis
   1888, Chicago: John M. Clayton — Ferdinand Havis — John A. Williams
   1892, Minneapolis: Louis Altheimer — Jesse C. Duke — Ferdinand Havis — Oscar M. Spellman
   1896, St. Louis: Louis Altheimer — Ferdinand Havis — A. G. Hough
   1900, Philadelphia: S. Dawson — Ferdinand Havis — Oscar M. Spellman — R. C. Thompson
   1904, Chicago: Ferdinand Havis
   1908, Chicago: S. Dawson
   1912, Chicago: A. C. Hough
   1932, Chicago: R. M. Galbraith — C. C. Neal
   1936, Cleveland: Robert A. Zebold
   1944, Chicago: Robert A. Zebold
   1956, San Francisco: Harold Flowers
   1960, Chicago: M. D. Morgan, Jr.
   1964, San Francisco: Warren Lieblong
   1972, Miami Beach: Odis H. Richmond, Sr. — Carolyn Rush

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/JF-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]