The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Crawford County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Crawford County

Index to Locations

  • Private or family graveyards
  • Van Buren Unknown location
  • Van Buren Fairview Cemetery

    Private or family graveyard
    Crawford County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      James Woodson Bates (1788-1846) — of Arkansas. Born in Goochland County, Va., August 25, 1788. Delegate to U.S. Congress from Arkansas Territory, 1819; state court judge in Arkansas, 1828. Slaveowner. Died in Van Buren, Crawford County, Ark., December 26, 1846 (age 58 years, 123 days). Interment in a private or family graveyard.
      Relatives: Son of Thomas Fleming Bates (1742-1803) and Caroline Matilda (Woodson) Bates (born 1751); brother of Frederick Bates and Edward Bates; married 1840 to Elizabeth Moore; step-father of Mathew C. Moore; third cousin once removed of Samuel Hughes Woodson, Silas Woodson, Daniel Woodson and John Archibald Woodson; third cousin twice removed of Urey Woodson (1859-1939).
      Political family: Woodson family of Jessamine County, Kentucky.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
    Politicians formerly buried here:
      Mathew C. Moore (1837-1877) — Born near Van Buren, Crawford County, Ark., April 24, 1837. Member of Arkansas state house of representatives, 1875. Died in Van Buren, Crawford County, Ark., April 24, 1877 (age 40 years, 0 days). Original interment at in a private or family graveyard; reinterment in 1915 at Forest Park Cemetery, Fort Smith, Ark.
      Relatives: Step-son of James Woodson Bates (1788-1846); son of Elizabeth Moore.
      Political family: Woodson family of Jessamine County, Kentucky.

    Unknown Location
    Van Buren, Crawford County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      William James McCuen (c.1943-2000) — also known as Bill McCuen — of Hot Springs, Garland County, Ark.; Heber Springs, Cleburne County, Ark. Born in Fort Smith, Sebastian County, Ark., about 1943. Democrat. School teacher; Arkansas land commissioner, 1981-85; secretary of state of Arkansas, 1985-94; defeated in primary, 1994; candidate for U.S. Representative from Arkansas 4th District, 1992. After leaving office as Secretary of State, he admitted accepting kickbacks from two supporters he gave jobs, and not paying taxes on the money. He also admitted to conspiring with a political consultant to split $53,560 embezzled from the state in a sham transaction. He was indicted on corruption charges in 1995. On January 5, 1996, he pleaded guilty to felony counts of tax evasion and accepting a kickback; he pleaded no contest to a misdemeanor count of trading in public office. Sentenced to 17 years in prison, and fined. Released on parole (due to illness) in February 1999. Died of colon cancer and a stroke, in Heber Springs, Cleburne County, Ark., September 9, 2000 (age about 57 years). Interment somewhere.

    Fairview Cemetery
    Van Buren, Crawford County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      Hugh French Thomason (1826-1893) — also known as Hugh F. Thomason — of Arkansas. Born in Smith County, Tenn., February 22, 1826. American candidate for U.S. Representative from Arkansas 1st District, 1856; delegate to Arkansas secession convention, 1861; Delegate from Arkansas to the Confederate Provisional Congress, 1861-62; candidate for Representative from Arkansas in the Confederate Congress 1st District, 1861; member of Arkansas state legislature, 1866, 1886; delegate to Arkansas state constitutional convention, 1874; member of Arkansas state senate, 1880; state court judge in Arkansas, 1890-93. Died in Van Buren, Crawford County, Ark., July 30, 1893 (age 67 years, 158 days). Interment at Fairview Cemetery.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/CF-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]