The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Alabama

U.S. District Attorneys for Alabama, 1870-1998 (may be incomplete!)
John A. Minnis 1870-74 N. S. McAfee 1874-75 Charles E. Mayer 1876-80 William H. Smith 1880-85 George H. Craig 1885 William H. Denson 1885-89 Lewis E. Parsons, Jr. 1889-93 Henry D. Clayton 1893-96 George F. Moore, Jr. 1896-97 Warren S. Reese, Jr. 1897-1906 Erastus J. Parsons 1906-13 Thomas D. Samford 1913-24 Grady Reynolds 1924-31 Arthur B. Chilton 1931-34 Thomas D. Samford 1934-42 Edward B. Parker 1942-53 Hartwell Davis 1953-62 Ben Hardeman 1962-69 Leon J. Hopper 1969 Ira DeMent 1969-77 Barry E. Teague 1977-81 John C. Bell 1981-87 James E. Wilson 1987-94 Charles R. Pitt 1994-

U.S. District Attorneys for Alabama, 1820-2001 (may be incomplete!)
William Crawford 1820 Frank Jones 1824-26 Harry J. Thornton 1826-29 Joseph Scott 1829-30 Byrd Brandon 1830-36 John D. Phelan 1836 Edwin R. Wallace 1836-39 Jeremiah Clemens 1839-40 Joseph A. S. Acklin 1840-50 Jefferson F. Jackson 1850-53 George S. Walden 1853-59 M. J. Turnley 1859-60 Charles E. Mayer 1876-80 William H. Smith 1880-85 George H. Craig 1885 William H. Denson 1885-89 Lewis E. Parsons, Jr. 1889-93 Emmet O'Neal 1893-97 William Vaughn 1897-1902 Thomas R. Roulhac 1902-07 Oliver D. Street 1907-13 Robert N. Bell 1913-19 Erle Pettus 1919-22 Charles B. Kennamer 1922-31 Jim C. Smith 1931 John B. Isbell 1931-33 Jim C. Smith 1933-46 John D. Hill 1946-53 Frank M. Johnson, Jr. 1953-55 Atley A. Kitchings, Jr. 1955-56 William L. Longshore 1956-61 Macon L. Weaver 1961-69 Wayman G. Sherrer 1969-77 Jesse R. Brooks 1977-81 Frank W. Donaldson 1981-92 Jack W. Selden 1992-93 Claude Harris, Jr. 1993-94 Walter Braswell 1994-95 Caryl P. Privett 1995-97 G. Douglas Jones 1997- Doug Jones 1997-2001

U.S. District Attorneys for Alabama, 1825-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Henry Hitchcock 1825-30 John Elliott 1830-35 John Forsyth, Jr. 1835-38 George W. Gayle 1838-42 George I. S. Walker 1842-46 Alexander B. Meek 1846-50 Peter Hamilton 1850 A. J. Requier 1850-58 John P. Southworth 1869 George M. Duskin 1877-85 John D. Burnett 1885-89 Morris D. Wickersham 1889-93 Joseph N. Miller 1893-97 Morris D. Wickersham 1897-1904 William H. Armbrecht 1904-12 James B. Sloan 1912-13 Alexander D. Pitts 1913-22 Aubrey Boyles 1922-26 Nicholas E. Stallworth 1926-27 Alex C. Birch 1927-35 Francis H. Inge 1935-43 Albert J. Tully 1943-48 Percy C. Fountain 1948-56 Ralph Kennamer 1956-61 Vernol R. Jansen, Jr. 1961-69 Charles S. Spunner-White, Jr. 1969-77 William A. Kimbrough, Jr. 1977-81 William R. Favre, Jr. 1981 Jeff Sessions 1981-93 Edward Vulevich, Jr. 1993-95 J. Don Foster 1995-
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]