The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Alabama: Secretaries of State

Alabama Secretaries of State, 1818-2007 (May be incomplete!)
Jack Ferrell Ross 1818 Thomas A. Rodgers 1819-21 James J . Pleasants 1821-24 James I. Thornton 1824-34 Edmund A. Webster 1834-36 Thomas B. Tunstall 1836-40 William Garrett 1840-52 Vincent M. Benham 1852-56 James H. Weaver 1856-60 Patrick H. Brittan 1860-65 Albert S. Elmore 1865-66 David L. Dalton 1866-67 Micah Taul 1867-68 Charles A. Miller 1868-70 Jabez J. Parker 1870-72 Patrick Ragland 1872-73 Neander H. Rice 1873-74 Rufus K. Boyd 1874-78 William W. Screws 1878-82 Ellis Phelan 1882-85 Charles C. Langdon 1885-90 Joseph D. Barron 1890-94 James K. Jackson 1894-98 Robert P. McDavid 1898-1903 J. Thomas Heflin 1903-04 Edmund R. McDavid 1904-07 Frank N. Julian 1907-10 Cyrus B. Brown 1911-15 John Purifoy 1915-19 William P. Cobb 1919-23 S. H. Blan 1923-27 John Marvin Brandon 1927-31 Pete B. Jarman 1931-35 D. Howell Turner 1935-39 John Marvin Brandon 1939-43 D. Howell Turner 1943-44 Sybil Poole 1944-51 Agnes Baggett 1951-55 Mary Texas Hurt 1955-59 Bettye Frink 1959-63 Agnes Baggett 1963-67 Mabel Amos 1967-75 Agnes Baggett 1975-79 Don Siegelman 1979-87 Glen Browder 1987-89 Fred Crawford 1989 Perry A. Hand 1989-91 Billy Joe Camp 1991-93 Jim Bennett 1993-2003 Nancy L. Worley 2003-07 Beth Chapman 2007-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1818: Willis Roberts, defeated.
  • 1902: J. Thomas Heflin, elected.
  • 1904 May 1: J. Thomas Heflin, resigned.
  • 1906: Frank N. Julian, elected.
  • 1958: Glenn Andrews, defeated.
  • 1978: Don Siegelman (Dem), elected.
  • 1982: Don Siegelman (Dem), elected.
  • 1990: Spencer T. Bachus, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]