The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Alaska: State Senate

Members of the Alaska State Senate, 1962-2022 (May be incomplete!)

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1978: Bettye Fahrenkamp (Dem), elected. Tim Kelly (Rep), elected.
  • 1988: Drue Pearce (Rep), elected.
  • 1982: Tim Kelly (Rep), elected.
  • 1986: Tim Kelly (Rep), elected.
  • 1982: Rick Halford (Rep), elected.
  • 1984: Rick Halford (Rep), elected.
  • 1988: Rick Halford (Rep), elected.
  • 1991 Aug 12: Bettye Fahrenkamp, died in office.
  • 1992: Robin L. Taylor (Rep), elected.
  • 1992 Jun 15: Robin L. Taylor, appointed.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Robin L. Taylor (Rep), elected; Greg C. Middag (Dem), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Jim Duncan (Dem), elected; Red Swanson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Kim S. Elton (Dem), elected; Don Abel (Rep), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Jerry Mackie (Dem), elected; Gary Stevens (Rep), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: John C. Torgerson (Rep), elected; Suzanne Little (Dem), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: John C. Torgerson (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Jerry Ward (Rep), elected; Judith E. Salo (Dem), defeated.
  • 1992: Drue Pearce (Rep), elected.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Drue Pearce (Rep), elected; Joe Murdy (Dem), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Drue Pearce (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1992: Loren D. Leman (Rep), elected.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Loren D. Leman (Rep), elected; Susan E. Reeves, defeated.
  • 1992: Johnny Ellis (Dem), elected.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Johnny Ellis (Dem), elected; Don Cather (Independent Republican), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Johnny Ellis (Dem), elected; Jared Petersen (Rep), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Sean Parnell (Rep), elected; Pat A. Abney (Ind), defeated.
  • 1992: Dave Donley (Rep), elected.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Dave Donley (Rep), elected; Larry Baker (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Dave Donley (Rep), elected; Tom Lamb (Alaskan Independence), defeated.
  • 1992: Tim Kelly (Rep), elected.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Tim Kelly (Rep), elected; Bettye Davis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1992: Randy Phillips (Rep), elected.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Randy Phillips (Rep), elected; Damon Cruz (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Randy Phillips (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1992: Rick Halford (Rep), elected.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Rick Halford (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Lyda Green (Rep), elected; Jay Kerttula (Dem), defeated; Robert Shumaker (Alaskan Independence), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Lyda Green (Rep), elected; Glenn F. Massay (Dem), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Gary R. Wilken (Rep), elected; David Guttenberg (Dem), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Bert Sharp (Rep), elected; Frank Eagle (Dem), defeated; Shirley Knight (Independent Republican), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Pete Kelly (Rep), elected; Jane G. Haigh (Dem), defeated.
  • 1992: Mike Miller (Rep), elected.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Mike Miller (Rep), elected; Ronauld J. Gould (Dem), defeated.
  • 1992: Georgianna Lincoln (Dem), elected.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Georgianna Lincoln (Dem), elected; P. R. Miller (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Georgianna Lincoln (Dem), elected; Scott Smith (Rep), defeated.
  • 1990: Albert Adams (Dem), elected.
  • 1992: Albert Adams (Dem), elected.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Albert Adams (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1990: Lyman F. Hoffman (Dem), elected.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Lyman F. Hoffman (Dem), elected; Bryce Edgmon (Independent Democratic), defeated; Leonard Freitas (Peace and Freedom), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Lyman F. Hoffman (Dem), elected; Johnny T. Hawk (Rep), defeated.
  • 2002: Fred Dyson, elected.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Robin L. Taylor (Rep), elected; Greg C. Middag (Dem), defeated. Alan Austerman (Rep), elected; Tim June (Dem), defeated. Jerry Ward (Rep), elected; Mike Szymanski (Dem), defeated; William D. Bartee (Green), defeated. Loren D. Leman (Rep), elected; Hollis S. French (Dem), defeated; Jed Whittaker (Green), defeated. John Cowdery (Rep), elected; Sarah M. Scanlan (Dem), defeated; David Guzy (Moderate Republican), defeated. Bettye Davis (Dem), elected; Terry Martin (Rep), defeated. Rick Halford (Rep), elected; James Della Silva (Dem), defeated; Dawn M. Mendias (Moderate Republican), defeated; Greg Garcia (Green), defeated. Gary R. Wilken (Rep), elected; Molly V. O'Malley (Dem), defeated. Gene P. Therriault (Rep), elected; Neal Matson (Dem), defeated. Donald C. Olson (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AK/ofc/stsen.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]