The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Alaska: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Alaska, 1970-2009 (May be incomplete!)
H. A. Boucher 1970-74 Lowell Thomas, Jr. 1974-78 Terry Miller 1978-82 Stephen A. McAlpine 1982-90 Jack Coghill 1990-94 Fran Ulmer 1994-2002 Loren D. Leman 2002-06 Sean Parnell 2006-09

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1970 Nov 3: H. A. Boucher (Dem), elected.
  • 1974 Nov 5: Lowell Thomas, Jr. (Rep), elected.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Terry Miller (Rep), elected.
  • 1982 Nov 2: Stephen A. McAlpine (Dem), elected.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Stephen A. McAlpine (Dem), elected.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Jack Coghill (Alaskan Independence), elected.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Fran Ulmer (Dem), elected; Mike Miller (Rep), defeated; Margaret Ward (Alaskan Independence), defeated; Roger Lewis (Green), defeated; Pete Nolan (Patriot), defeated.
  • 1998 Aug 25: Fran Ulmer (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Aug 25: Jerry Ward (Rep), nominated; Virginia Collins (Rep), defeated in primary; Don Smith (Rep), defeated in primary; Doyle E. Holmes (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Aug 25: Clyde P. Baxley (Moderate Republican), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Aug 25: David Harrison (Alaskan Independence), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Aug 25: Dan Winn (Green), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Fran Ulmer (Dem), elected; Jerry Ward (Rep), defeated; Clyde P. Baxley (Moderate Republican), defeated; Michael R. Milligan (Green), defeated.
  • 2002: Sarah Palin (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2006: Sean Parnell, elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AK/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]