The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Alaska: Governors

Governors of Alaska, 1958-2019 (May be incomplete!)
William A. Egan 1959-66 Walter J. Hickel 1966-69 Keith H. Miller 1969-70 William A. Egan 1970-74 Jay S. Hammond 1974-82 Bill Sheffield 1982-86 Steve Cowper 1986-90 Walter J. Hickel 1990-94 Tony Knowles 1994-2002 Frank H. Murkowski 2002-06 Sarah Palin 2006-09 Sean Parnell 2009-14 Bill Walker 2014-18 Michael James Dunleavy 2018-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1958 Nov 26: William A. Egan (Dem), elected; John Butrovich, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Dolinter (Ind), defeated.
  • 1962 Nov 6: William A. Egan (Dem), elected; Mike Stepovich (Rep), defeated.
  • 1966: Mike Stepovich, defeated for nomination.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Walter J. Hickel (Rep), elected; William A. Egan (Dem), defeated; John Grasse, defeated.
  • 1970 Nov 3: William A. Egan (Dem), elected; Keith H. Miller (Rep), defeated; Ralph M. Anderson (American Independent), defeated.
  • 1974: Walter J. Hickel (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1974 Nov 5: Jay S. Hammond (Rep), elected; William A. Egan (Dem), defeated; Joseph E. Vogler (Alaskan Independence), defeated.
  • 1978: Walter J. Hickel, defeated.
  • 1982: Joseph E. Vogler, defeated; Tom Fink (Rep), defeated; Richard Randolph (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1986: Walter J. Hickel (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1986: Joseph E. Vogler (Alaskan Independence), defeated.
  • 1990: Tony Knowles (Dem), defeated; Walter J. Hickel (Alaskan Independence), elected.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Tony Knowles (Dem), elected; Jim Campbell (Rep), defeated; Jack Coghill (Alaskan Independence), defeated; Jim Sykes (Green), defeated; Ralph Winterrowd (Patriot), defeated.
  • 1998 Aug 25: Tony Knowles (Dem), nominated; Nels Anderson, Jr. (Dem), defeated in primary; Don Wright (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Aug 25: John Lindauer (Rep), nominated; Robin L. Taylor (Rep), defeated in primary; Wayne Ross (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Aug 25: Ray Metcalfe (Moderate Republican), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Aug 25: Sylvia C. Sullivan (Alaskan Independence), nominated; Harold A. Haldane (Alaskan Independence), defeated in primary; Robert Gigler (Alaskan Independence), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Aug 25: Jim Sykes (Green), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Tony Knowles (Dem), elected; Robin L. Taylor (Rep), defeated; John Lindauer (Rep), defeated; Ray Metcalfe (Moderate Republican), defeated; Erica L. Jacobsson (Green), defeated; Sylvia C. Sullivan (Alaskan Independence), defeated; Wayne Ross, defeated; Nicholas J. Begich, defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Frank H. Murkowski (Rep), elected.
  • 2006: Sarah Palin (Rep), elected; Tony Knowles (Dem), defeated.
  • 2006 Aug 22: Frank H. Murkowski (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AK/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]