The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Weston, West Virginia
including Preston
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Weston, 1934-99 (may be incomplete!)
M. S. Holt as of 1934 John B. Perky as of 1941-44 O. H. Harrison as of 1945-46 Charles L. Stalnaker as of 1947-48 Edward E. Blair as of 1949-50 Fred G. Weber as of 1951 Robert C. Kiddy as of 1960 Louis G. Craig as of 1961-67 Wendell E. Hayes as of 1977-78 Joseph E. Craft as of 1979-80 Wendell E. Hayes as of 1981-83 Danny P. Whelan as of 1985-87 Gregory Stark as of 1989 Terry Cogar as of 1999

Postmasters at Weston, 1863-1972 (may be incomplete!)
George W. Strickler 1863-66 Abraham Williams 1866-69 Newton B. Barnes 1869-73 Mary A. Barnes 1873-81 William H. Aspinall 1881-87 Alexander H. Brown 1887-90 Charles E. Anderson 1890-93 Granville M. Chidester 1893-95 James H. Edwards 1895-98 Richard A. Hall 1898-1914 Charles Lively 1914-19 DeCosta Smith 1919-20 Earle Reger 1920-28 Charles B. Goodwin 1928-30 Frank G. Jarvis 1930-31 John W. Farnsworth 1931-35 George W. Harris 1935 Lee S. Switzer 1935-54 Sabinus M. McWhorter 1954 Sabinus M. McWhorter 1954-61 Glenn Wilson Hammer 1961-63 Ross White 1963-64 Glenn Wilson Hammer 1964-65 Glenn Wilson Hammer 1965-72

(became part of West Virginia 1863)

Postmasters at Weston, 1820-63 (may be incomplete!)
John Steeth 1820-25 Gideon D. Camden 1825-26 John Lorentz 1826-30 Adam Baird 1830-32 James Bennett 1832-34 John Lorentz 1834 Richard P. Camden 1834-45 George A. Jackson 1845-49 James A. Hall 1849-54 Frederick J. Alfred 1854-56 Henry I. Tapp 1856-58 Frederick J. Alfred 1858-61 George W. Strickler 1861-63

(renamed Weston)

Postmasters at Preston, 1818-20 (may be incomplete!)
George H. Camp 1818-20

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/weston.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]