The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Weirton, West Virginia
including Hollidays Cove, Marland Heights, Weirton Heights
Mayors, City Managers, Postmasters

Mayors of Weirton, 1947-2004 (may be incomplete!)
Thomas E. Millsop 1947-55 Samuel Kusic as of 1955 David T. Frew as of 1959-63 Frank A. Rybka as of 1964-70 Mike J. Andochick, Jr. as of 1971-78 Donald T. Mentzer as of 1979-86 Edwin J. Bowman as of 1987-95 Dean M. Harris as of 1996-99 William Miller as of 2004

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1947: Thomas E. Millsop, elected.
  • 1951: Thomas E. Millsop, elected.

    City Managers of Weirton, 1949-51 (may be incomplete!)
    Dan Sweaney as of 1949-51

    Postmasters at Weirton, 1910-70 (may be incomplete!)
    Louis Lowmiller 1910-16 Walter S. Bambrick 1916-23 Curtis K. Stem 1923-33 Gilbert E. Walters 1933-35 Gilbert E. Walters 1935-37 Stephen P. Shlanta 1937-39 Stephen P. Shlanta 1939-43 Elisha M. Crabtree 1944-47 Walter S. Bambrick 1947-49 Walter S. Bambrick 1949-56 Samuel J. Rees 1956-57 Samuel J. Rees 1957-65 Michael P. McHale 1965 Harry O. Givens, Jr. 1965-69 Glenn D. Ramsay 1969-70

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1956 Jun 16: Walter S. Bambrick, died in office.

    Hollidays Cove
    (merged into Weirton 1947)

    Mayors of Hollidays Cove, 1934-47 (may be incomplete!)
    C. S. Cattrell as of 1934 Samuel V. Wright 1941-47

    Postmasters at Hollidays Cove, 1879-1938 (may be incomplete!)
    Maria Roberts as of 1879 James H. Shimer as of 1901-05 Thomas T. Bambrick as of 1933-38

    Marland Heights
    (merged into Weirton 1947)

    Mayors of Marland Heights, 1941-46 (may be incomplete!)
    H. H. Smurthwaite as of 1941-45 Donald C. Ackley as of 1946

    Weirton Heights
    (merged into Weirton 1947)

    Mayors of Weirton Heights, 1941-46 (may be incomplete!)
    James Stephenson as of 1941 Howard A. Walker as of 1942-46

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/weirton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]