The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Parkersburg, West Virginia

Mayors of Parkersburg, 1861-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Milton P. Amiss as of 1861-62 Charles Brooks Smith as of 1878-80 Jacob B. Jackson as of 1879 W. B. Pedigo as of 1907-11 J. Loyal Gilbert as of 1919 Allen C. Murdoch as of 1929 Allen C. Murdoch as of 1934 H. R. DeBussey as of 1935-37 J. S. Dunn as of 1938-40 Earl Stephens as of 1941-43 Golden Underwood as of 1944-46 Carlton E. Welch as of 1947-48 Golden Underwood as of 1949-52 Glen M. Alleman 1953 William G. Brown 1953-55 Clarence W. Hylbert as of 1959 Dean T. Jackson as of 1961 William G. Brown as of 1962-64 Dean T. Jackson as of 1965-67 Glen B. Gainer, Jr. as of 1968-70 William P. A. Nicely 1970-77 Al Smith as of 1978-81 Pat S. Pappas as of 1981-85 William P. A. Nicely 1986-89 Eugene A. Knotts as of 1996-97 Jimmy Colombo as of 1999

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2008 May 13: Robert D. Newell (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2008 May 13: Mark Ray (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 2008 Nov 4: Robert D. Newell (Dem), elected; Mark Ray (Rep), defeated.
  • 2012 May 8: Robert D. Newell (Dem), nominated; Gerald E. Board (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2012 May 8: Sharyn Tallman (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Robert D. Newell (Dem), elected; Sharyn Tallman (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Parkersburg, 1863-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    James M. Boreman 1863-78 Charles F. Scott 1878-86 Alfred N. Williams 1886-90 Stowell S. Hazen 1890-94 John S. Camden 1894-98 Edward McCreary 1898-1902 Gordon B. Gibbens 1902-07 Frank S. Smith 1907-13 Simms Powell 1913-17 Walter E. Stout 1917-19 Walter E. Stout 1919-22 K. E. Ruttencutter 1922 K. E. Ruttencutter 1922-23 George McDonald 1923 George McDonald 1923-27 Evan W. See 1927-28 James W. Bee 1928 James W. Bee 1928-33 Anna M. Stephenson 1933-34 Anna M. Stephenson 1934-40 Fred Gainer 1940-56 Walter L. Ferrell 1956-57 William A. Swearingen 1957-58 William A. Swearingen 1958-70

    (became part of West Virginia in 1863)

    Postmasters at Parkersburg, 1805-63 (may be incomplete!)
    J. G. Laidley 1805-06 John Stephenson 1806-11 Thomas Neale 1811-21 William Tefft 1821-29 Daniel R. Neale 1829-41 George W. Saunders 1841-51 Alexander M. Sterrett 1851-52 Thomas G. Smith 1852-61 James M. Boreman 1861-63

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/parkersburg.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]