The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Martinsville, West Virginia
including Brooklyn, Fishing Creek
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of New Martinsville, 1934-83 (may be incomplete!)
J. D. Schmied as of 1934 Robert L. Bruce as of 1941-67 Joe C. Theiss as of 1977-79 Howard T. Jeffers as of 1980-83

Postmasters at New Martinsville, 1863-1972 (may be incomplete!)
Reuben H. Sayre 1863-66 John B. Priest 1866-67 Reuben H. Sayre 1867-72 Levi Tucker 1872-75 Reuben H. Sayre 1875-78 Levi Tucker 1878-83 Reuben T. Richardson 1883-85 Benjamin M. Welch 1885-89 Nicholas Bandi 1889-93 John C. McEldowney 1893-98 James F. McCaskey 1898-1910 Reuben T. Richardson 1910-11 Reuben T. Richardson 1911-15 James A. Pyles 1915-23 Lloyd V. McIntire 1923 Lloyd V. McIntire 1923-32 Joshua G. Mayfield 1932-34 Justus O. Eakin 1934-46 George S. Snodgrass 1946-48 Henry E. Chapman 1948-49 Henry E. Chapman 1949-54 Richard U. Duerr 1954-55 Richard U. Duerr 1955-63 Andrew W. Finley 1963-65 Andrew W. Finley 1965-72

(annexed to New Martinsville 1935)

Mayors of Brooklyn, 1934 (may be incomplete!)
H. O. Showalter as of 1934

Postmasters at Brooklyn, 1934 (may be incomplete!)
Oscar N. Hutchison as of 1934

New Martinsville
(became part of West Virginia in 1863)

Postmasters at New Martinsville, 1842-63 (may be incomplete!)
James McClure 1842-45 Presley M. Martin 1845-46 James McClure 1846-47 Thomas Tucker 1847-48 George W. Bier 1848-53 Jonathan N. Coulter 1853-60 Bernard A. Boyers 1860-61 Reuben H. Sayre 1861-63

Fishing Creek
(renamed New Martinsville 1842)

Postmasters at Fishing Creek, 1815-42 (may be incomplete!)
Presley Martin 1815-25 Benjamin F. Martin 1825-30 Presley Martin 1830-41 James McClure 1841-42

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/newmartinsville.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]