The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Morgantown, West Virginia
Mayors, City Managers, Postmasters

Mayors of Morgantown, 1866-2013 (may be incomplete!)
J. Marshall Hagans as of 1866-69 Frank L. Bowman as of 1916-17 Charles T. Hickman as of 1919 Thomas A. Barrickman as of 1929 Junius M. Strouss as of 1933 George W. Phillips as of 1934 John G. Zevely as of 1935 Virgil A. Brown 1937 Harry A. Largent 1937 William T. Hughes, Jr. as of 1938 Marvin R. Kiger as of 1939-40 Ray Swindler as of 1941-42 H. Brinley Pugh as of 1943-44 Robert Bowie as of 1945 H. L. Winter as of 1946-47 Charles W. Loar as of 1948 G. C. Hough as of 1949 Charles W. Loar as of 1950 Robert Bowie as of 1951 Benjamin L. Glasscock as of 1952-53 H. W. Burt as of 1953 T. M. Forman as of 1954 G. C. Hough as of 1955 Marlyn E. Lugar as of 1959-61 Charles W. Blissitt as of 1962-63 A. W. Buehler as of 1964 J. R. Goodwin as of 1965 A. W. Buehler as of 1966-69 Terry T. Jones as of 1970 Earl L. McCartney as of 1971 J. Thearl Jamison as of 1972 Dorothy Comuntzis as of 1973-74 Larry E. Schifano as of 1975 Earl L. McCartney as of 1976 Frank Petryszak as of 1977 James E. Craig as of 1978 James Meredith as of 1979-80 Florence L. Merow as of 1981 James E. Craig as of 1982 Harold F. Lipscomb as of 1983-86 Kenneth V. Randolph, Jr. as of 1987-89 Charlene Marshall as of 1996-97 Frank Scafella as of 1999 Jim Manilla as of 2013

City Managers of Morgantown, 1934-51 (may be incomplete!)
Elmer W. Prince as of 1934-51

Postmasters at Morgantown, 1863-1972 (may be incomplete!)
Francis Madera 1863-64 Frederick A. Dering 1864-86 Adam L. Nye 1886-90 James A. Davis 1890-94 Joseph J. Wharton 1894-98 James P. Fitch 1898-1907 Smith A. Posten 1907-11 Frank L. Bowman 1911-15 Thomas E. Hodges 1915 Thomas E. Hodges 1915-19 Amos L. Demass 1919-21 Edward M. Grant 1921-23 Earl Pepper 1923 Earl Pepper 1923-28 Hugh W. Cox 1928-30 Sardis N. Cordray 1930-31 David C. Garrison 1931-35 Jacob L. Wharton 1935-36 John R. Fortney 1936-37 John R. Fortney 1937-44 C. Leslie Hall 1944-45 C. Leslie Hall 1945-48 Donald E. Post 1948-51 Donald L. Jamison 1951-66 Joe E. Leaseburg 1966-67 Herman V. Walker 1967-72

(became part of West Virginia 1863)

Postmasters at Morgantown, 1795-1863 (may be incomplete!)
Peregrine Foster 1795 Hugh McNeely 1795-1803 Enos Dougherty 1803-17 Alexander Hawthorn 1817-22 Nicholas B. Madera 1822-53 James Shay 1853-60 Charles Wallace 1860-61 Francis Madera 1861-63

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/morgantown.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]