The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Martinsburg, West Virginia

Mayors of Martinsburg, 1896-1999 (may be incomplete!)
William Thornton Henshaw 1896-1902 H. G. Tonkin as of 1919 G. W. Appleby, Jr. as of 1929 Chris H. Dailey as of 1934-43 R. H. Stotler as of 1944-45 Paul B. Martin as of 1946-47 Carl L. Wellinger as of 1948 Roy Stotler as of 1949 Carlton B. Stuckey as of 1950-54 William H. Peery as of 1955-59 C. Leslie Golliday as of 1961 Carlton B. Stuckey as of 1962-63 James B. Hutzler as of 1964-65 Edwin W. Miller as of 1966-69 Calvin H. Kibler as of 1970-71 Gene Diamond as of 1973-77 William C. Clohan, Sr. as of 1978-83 Edward W. Dockeney, Jr. as of 1985-89 Earnest L. Sparks as of 1996-99

Postmasters at Martinsburg, 1865-1968 (may be incomplete!)
Peter Tabler 1865-68 George W. Tabler 1868-80 John N. Wisner 1880-84 George F. Evans 1884-86 William B. Colston 1886-90 William H. H. Flick 1890-94 C. W. Boyer 1894-98 Alexander Clohan 1898-1910 Edgar C. Henshaw 1910-14 Joseph F. Thompson 1914-21 John W. Kastle, Jr. 1921-22 John W. Kastle, Jr. 1922-33 Whiting C. Faulkner 1933-34 Whiting C. Faulkner 1934-39 Marlin S. Eckerd 1939-40 Marlin S. Eckerd 1940-42 Arthur M. Gilbert 1942-46 Marlin S. Eckerd 1946-66 J. Wesley McDonald 1966-68 Robert Lee Noll 1968

(became part of West Virginia 1863)

Postmasters at Martinsburg, 1792-1863 (may be incomplete!)
David Hunter 1792-93 Evan Shelby 1793-96 Isaac Shelby 1796-99 William Riddle 1799 Robert C. Willis 1799-1802 William Summerville 1802-21 William Long 1821-41 John P. Stewart 1841-43 John H. Linkens 1843-49 John W. Boyd 1849-53 Joseph Burns 1853 Samuel Alburtis 1853-54 I. Thornton Young 1854-61 George R. Wisong 1861-63

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/martinsburg.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]