The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Huntington, West Virginia

Mayors of Huntington, 1871-1999 (may be incomplete!)
Peter C. Buffington 1871-74 Thomas J. Burke 1874-76 M. G. Nichols 1876-77 Thomas J. Burke 1877-78 J. M. Layne 1878-79 Edward Stanard Buffington 1879-80 George Cullen 1880-82 J. M. Layne 1882-83 Hamilton Dickey 1883-84 A. L. Crider 1884-85 E. A. Bennett 1885-86 A. H. Woodworth 1886-87 Thomas S. Garland 1887-89 R. E. Hagan 1889-90 Thomas S. Garland 1890-91 Hamilton Dickey 1891-92 W. H. Bull 1892-93 George I. Neal 1893-95 C. R. Enlow 1895-96 Ely Ensign 1896-97 W. F. Hite 1897-98 Charles A. Nash 1898-99 H. A. Brandebury 1899-1901 H. C. Gordon 1901-03 Charles M. Buck 1903-05 H. C. Gordon 1905-06 John W. Ensign 1906-08 John B. Stevenson 1908-09 Rufus Switzer 1909-12 Floyd S. Chapman 1912-15 Edmund Sehon 1915-18 Leon S. Wiles 1918 C. W. Campbell as of 1919 Will E. Neal as of 1925-28 James Boyce Taylor as of 1928-29 Porter W. Smith as of 1934 Martin V. Chapman as of 1935 George R. Seamonds as of 1937-39 Claude V. Swann as of 1940-42 Paul O. Fiedler as of 1943-46 Douglas C. Tomkies as of 1947-48 W. W. Payne as of 1949-52 Cecil C. Thompson as of 1953-54 George E. Theurer as of 1955 Harold L. Frankel 1957-59 Robert O. Ellis, Jr. as of 1959 John J. Durkin as of 1961 George Garner as of 1962-63 A. E. Harris as of 1964 John B. Meek as of 1965 R. O. Robertson, Jr. as of 1966 Owen L. Duncan as of 1967 Gordon Miller as of 1968 Robert V. Bolling as of 1969 Robert E. Hinerman as of 1970 Milton T. Herndon as of 1971 Gordon T. Millard as of 1972 Owen L. Duncan 1973 Phyllis Cyrus 1973-74 Harold L. Frankel 1974-75 J. A. Caldwell as of 1975-76 Harold L. Frankel 1977-78 George Malott as of 1978 R. Dean Sturm as of 1979-80 William D. Toney as of 1981 Robert P. Alexander as of 1982-83 Robert R. Nelson as of 1986-89 Jean Dean as of 1996-99

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1918 Oct 18: Leon S. Wiles, died in office.

    Postmasters at Huntington, 1871-1980 (may be incomplete!)
    Merton H. Brooks 1871-75 John T. Gibson 1875-81 Judson Spofford 1881-84 Ira R. Wood 1884-86 James W. Verlander 1886-88 Cameron L. Thompson 1888-89 Hamilton M. Adams 1889-94 James H. Marcum 1894-98 J. A. Hughes 1898-1901 James W. Hughes 1901-13 Jerry W. Dingess 1913-16 Joseph H. Long 1916-21 Joseph LeSage 1921 Joseph LeSage 1921-26 Carl R. Varnum 1926-32 Walter C. Price 1932-33 Jerry W. Dingess 1933-34 Jerry W. Dingess 1934-44 Fred Lunsford 1944-49 Roy Lewis 1949 Roy Lewis 1949-57 Walter L. Ferrell 1957 Rex A. Pygman 1957-58 Rex A. Pygman 1958-65 Roy K. Hatton 1965-66 Roy K. Hatton 1966-80

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/huntington.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]