The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Grafton, West Virginia
Mayors, City Managers, Postmasters

Mayors of Grafton, 1914-99 (may be incomplete!)
W. Merle Watkins as of 1914 B. S. Dilworth as of 1919 Charles O. King as of 1929 Charles O. King as of 1934 O. E. Waugh as of 1937 P. F. Gillispie as of 1939-40 Charles O. King as of 1941-46 Russell G. Dotson as of 1947-49 Dorsey G. Bolyard as of 1949-53 Homer A. Gatrell as of 1953 R. D. Stout as of 1955 Paul P. Warden as of 1959-63 Ronald Knotts as of 1964 William A. Murray as of 1965-66 Mrs. Cosma Fisher as of 1967-70 James C. Fawcett as of 1971-74 William A. Manley as of 1976-77 Rodney Workman as of 1978-79 John D. Murray as of 1980-81 Rodney Workman as of 1982 John Reid as of 1983 Paul E. Elder as of 1985 John D. Murray as of 1986-87 Bruce L. Miller as of 1989 Daniel Mankins as of 1996-97 Thomas Horacek as of 1999

City Managers of Grafton, 1949-51 (may be incomplete!)
Curtis D. Decker as of 1949 Harry Curry as of 1950 A. Page Lockard as of 1951

Postmasters at Grafton, 1863-1972 (may be incomplete!)
Edward T. Osbourn 1863 James J. Warren 1863-66 Daniel Wilson 1866-76 Charles F. W. Kunst 1876-87 Andrew J. Nuzum 1887-91 James W. Holt 1891-94 Stephen W. Poe 1894-97 James W. Holt 1897-1902 Franklin B. Blue 1902-07 Ernest L. Love 1907-15 John H. S. Barlow 1915-24 Alphonse Leuthardt 1924-33 James T. Murphy 1933-35 James T. Murphy 1935-51 Howard F. Courtney 1951-52 Howard F. Courtney 1952-54 Loren A. Hoffman 1954-58 Loren A. Hoffman 1958-63 Thomas Kenneth Cole 1963-64 Thomas Kenneth Cole 1964-72

(became part of West Virginia 1863)

Postmasters at Grafton, 1854-63 (may be incomplete!)
William Powell 1854-57 Joseph S. Mercer 1857-59 M. Campbell 1859-61 Edward T. Osbourn 1861-63

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/grafton.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]