The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Fairmont, West Virginia
including Polsley's Mill
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Fairmont, 1908-99 (may be incomplete!)
Frank Pierpont Hall 1900 Matthew M. Neely as of 1908-10 William W. Conaway as of 1919 Arthur G. Martin as of 1929 A. C. West as of 1934 Fred T. Wilson as of 1935-46 Albert F. Robinson as of 1947-50 James H. Hanway as of 1951-55 William G. Meyer as of 1959-63 Forrest L. Springer as of 1964-66 Albert F. Robinson as of 1967-70 J. Richard Davis as of 1971-74 William M. Hawkins as of 1975-77 Earl N. Sraight, Jr. as of 1978 James L. Turner as of 1979-81 Robert K. Powell as of 1982 Gregory T. Hinton as of 1983 Robert M. Drummond, Sr. as of 1985 Carl J. Snyder as of 1986 Robert Drummond, Jr. as of 1987-89 Charles G. Manley as of 1996 Nick L. Fantasia as of 1997-99

Postmasters at Fairmont, 1863-1970 (may be incomplete!)
Richard P. Lott 1863-66 Cornelius B. Carney 1866 Richard P. Lott 1866-71 John W. Lott 1871-75 Ashbel G. Hall 1875-80 Thomas Reed 1880-85 Newton S. Barns 1885-90 Thomas Reed 1890-94 Larned P. Carr 1894-98 Allison H. Fleming 1898-1915 Charles E. Manley 1915-19 Clyde S. Holt 1919-20 Clyde S. Holt 1920 Jesse D. Wilson 1920-21 John S. Scott 1921-26 Harry E. Engle 1926-34 Arthur G. Martin 1934-35 Arthur G. Martin 1935-42 Harry C. Louden 1942-43 Harry C. Louden 1943-68 Edgar Sole 1968-70

(became part of West Virginia 1863)

Postmasters at Fairmont, 1843-63 (may be incomplete!)
Ebenezer Newcomb 1843-50 William D. Eyster 1850-53 William Nuzum 1853-56 Cornelius B. Carney 1856-61 Richard P. Lott 1861-63

Polsley's Mill
(became Fairmont 1843)

Postmasters at Polsley's Mill, 1820-43 (may be incomplete!)
Jacob Polsley 1820-22 John H. Polsley 1822-27 Ebenezer Newcomb 1827-43

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/fairmont.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]