The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Buckhannon, West Virginia

Mayors of Buckhannon, 1934-83 (may be incomplete!)
Henry R. Gay as of 1934 Thomas L. Stockert, Jr. as of 1941-42 Henry R. Gay as of 1943-44 James L. Harvey as of 1945-46 J. D. Hinkle as of 1947-50 Fred S. Ballard as of 1951 J. D. Hinkle, Jr. as of 1965-67 William R. Short as of 1977-83

Postmasters at Buckhannon, 1863-1971 (may be incomplete!)
Comodore P. Rohrbough 1863-64 Charles D. Tull 1864-66 Sylvester B. Phillips 1866 Charles D. Tull 1866-67 Hugh D. Murphy 1867-69 Seth Williams 1869-77 Floyd Leonard 1877-78 Ambrose B. Clarke 1878-85 Thomas G. Brady 1885-88 Wade H. Fisher 1888-89 Clark W. Heavner 1889-94 William Mearns 1894-98 Erskine W. Martin 1898-1902 Harrison A. Darnall 1902-14 Leonidas W. Bartlett 1914-22 J. Lee Heavner 1922-23 J. Lee Heavner 1923-27 John B. Hilleary 1927-33 Wilson P. Barlow 1933-34 Wilson P. Barlow 1934-39 Alice Barlow 1939-40 Charles R. Byrne 1940-63 Henry E. Harkins 1963-66 Henry E. Harkins 1966-71

(became part of West Virginia 1863)

Postmasters at Buckhannon, 1804-63 (may be incomplete!)
John Jackson 1804-15 Edward H. Jackson 1816-21 Jacob I. Jackson 1821-28 William W. Jackson 1828-30 Enoch Gibson 1830-32 Henry F. Westfall 1832-52 Samuel Spitler 1852-53 David S. Haselden 1853-54 Thomas A. Janney 1854-57 Tillotson Janney 1857-61 Comodore P. Rohrbough 1861-63

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/buckhannon.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]