The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Bluefield, West Virginia
Mayors, City Managers, Postmasters

Mayors of Bluefield, 1919-99 (may be incomplete!)
C. O. Stahlmann as of 1919 Andrew Jackson Stewart as of 1924-28 C. E. Lilley as of 1929 W. A. Light as of 1934 P. T. Saunders as of 1937 W. C. Snyder as of 1937-44 A. Harry Vest as of 1945-48 W. L. Thornton as of 1949-55 T. Courtney Tanner as of 1959 Henry F. Warden, Sr. 1961-65 O. Judson Lambert 1965-67 Clyde J. Stephens as of 1968 C. Edwin Elliott as of 1969-76 Don Keesling as of 1977-80 Paul Cole, Jr. as of 1981-89 Webster Gilbreath as of 1996 Nelson Walker as of 1997-99

City Managers of Bluefield, 1934-51 (may be incomplete!)
Kyle L. Bruce as of 1934 Emory P. Mitchell as of 1949-50 William L. Kell as of 1951

Postmasters at Bluefield, 1901-69 (may be incomplete!)
James E. Martin as of 1901 Hugh Ike Shott as of 1903-05 Stella M. Bivins 1933-35 R. L. Bailey 1935-49 Charles C. Tickle 1949-50 Merriman S. Smith 1950-55 Arnold G. Porterfield 1955-56 Arnold G. Porterfield 1956-62 Howard B. Faulkner 1962 Howard B. Faulkner 1962-64 William S. Penn, Jr. 1964-65 William S. Penn, Jr. 1965-67 Charles C. Tickle 1967 Charles C. Tickle 1967-69

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/bluefield.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]