The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Wausau, Wisconsin

Mayors of Wausau, 1872-2013 (may be incomplete!)
August Kickbusch 1872-73 Jacob Paff 1873-74 August Kickbusch 1874-75 Carl Hoeflinger 1875-76 Bartholomew Ringle 1876-77 John C. Clarke 1877-78 Daniel L. Plumer 1878-79 John E. Leahy 1879-82 Daniel L. Plumer 1882-84 John Ringle 1884-85 Rufus P. Manson 1885-87 Anton Mehl 1887-88 Ernst C. Zimmerman 1888-90 Gustave Mueller 1890-91 Robert E. Parcher 1891-94 John Miller 1894-95 Henry E. McEachron 1895-96 Emery J. Anderson 1896-97 Henry E. McEachron 1897-98 John N. Manson 1898-99 Joseph Reiser 1899-1900 Victor Alderson 1900-01 Louis Marchetti 1901-04 Ernst C. Zimmerman 1904-06 Myron H. Duncan 1906-08 John F. Lamont 1908-12 John Ringle 1912-16 Herman E. Marquardt 1916-18 John L. Sell 1918-20 Emil Flatter 1920-26 Otto Muenchow 1926-28 Alfred V. Gearhart 1928-30 Otto Muenchow 1930-35 George W. Borowitz 1935-38 August Polster 1938-42 Herbert A. Giese 1942-54 Arthur M. Smith 1954-58 Benjamin C. Schuck 1958-64 John Kannenberg 1964-88 John H. Robinson 1988-92 John D. Hess 1992-97 Jim K. Schaefer 1997-98 Linda E. Lawrence 1998-2004 James E. Tipple 2004-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1938: August Polster, elected.
  • 1940: August Polster, elected.
  • 1942: Herbert A. Giese, elected.
  • 1942 Feb 1: August Polster, died in office.
  • 1944: Herbert A. Giese, elected.
  • 1946: Herbert A. Giese, elected.
  • 1948: Herbert A. Giese, elected.
  • 1950: Herbert A. Giese, elected.
  • 1952: Herbert A. Giese, elected.
  • 1958: Benjamin C. Schuck, elected.
  • 1960: Benjamin C. Schuck, elected.
  • 1962: Benjamin C. Schuck, elected.
  • 1964: John Kannenberg, elected.
  • 1968: John Kannenberg, elected.
  • 1972: John Kannenberg, elected.
  • 1976: John Kannenberg, elected.
  • 1980: John Kannenberg, elected.
  • 1984: John Kannenberg, elected.
  • 1988: John H. Robinson, elected.
  • 1992: John D. Hess, elected.
  • 1996: John D. Hess, elected.
  • 1997: John D. Hess, resigned.
  • 1998: Linda E. Lawrence, elected.
  • 2000: Linda E. Lawrence, elected.
  • 2004: James E. Tipple, elected.
  • 2008: James E. Tipple, elected.
  • 2012: James E. Tipple, elected.

    Postmasters at Wausau, 1887-1975 (may be incomplete!)
    V. Bingle as of 1887 A. W. Trevett as of 1901-05 Frederick R. Becker 1934-37 Oscar L. Ringle 1937-45 Mabel F. Bachhuber 1945-46 Donald J. MacCormick 1946-49 George R. Schoenfeld 1949-55 Neal E. Jones 1955-56 Neal E. Jones 1956-75

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/ofc/wausau.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]