The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Mayors of Stevens Point, 1858-2000 (may be incomplete!)
William W. Schofield 1858-59 A. G. Ellis 1860 Gilbert L. Park 1861 D. D. Long 1862 B. L. Sharpstein 1863 A. G. Ellis 1864-65 William W. Spraggon 1866 A. G. Ellis 1867 James S. Young 1868 A. G. Ellis 1869-71 Almanson Eaton 1872 Matthew Wadleigh 1873 Owen Clark 1874 John D. McLean 1875-77 William W. Spraggon 1878-80 John O. Johnson 1881-82 O. C. Wheelock 1883-85 William W. Spraggon 1886-87 Owen Clark 1888 Henry Elisha Martin 1889 William W. Spraggon 1890 Byron B. Park 1891 James Reilly 1892 S. E. Karner 1893 Owen Clark 1894 J. L. Barker 1895-96 Patrick H. Cashin 1897 George L. Rogers 1898 J. L. Barker 1899 Patrick H. Cashin 1900-01 Philip Rothman 1902-03 T. H. Hanna 1904-07 Patrick H. Cashin 1908-09 F. A. Walters 1910-13 Leo P. Pasternacki 1914-15 F. A. Walters 1916-17 William F. Owen 1918-19 John N. Welsby 1920-28 Frank J. Blood 1937-41 Frank J. Lasecke 1941-42 J. J. Hannon 1942-43 Godfrey F. Clayton 1943-46 Ben W. Dagneau 1946-49 Alois L. Jacoboski 1949-53 Leonard L. Sorenson 1953-57 Paul M. Vincent 1957-58 Edward C. Piotrowski 1961 Gary Wescott as of 2000

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1858 Jun 26: William W. Schofield, elected.
  • 1920 Apr 6: John N. Welsby, elected.
  • 1926 Apr 6: John N. Welsby, elected; J. J. Normington, defeated; M. Donermeyer, defeated; F. A. Walters, defeated.
  • 1937 Apr 6: Frank J. Blood, elected.
  • 1942: Frank J. Lasecke, resigned.

    Postmasters at Stevens Point, 1887-1905 (may be incomplete!)
    George W. Cate as of 1887 Henry Curran as of 1901-05

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/ofc/stevenspoint.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]