The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Everett, Washington

Mayors of Everett, 1893-2004 (may be incomplete!)
Thomas Dwyer 1893-94 Norton D. Walling 1894-95 Jacob Hunsaker 1895-96 William C. Cox 1896-97 Jacob Falconer 1897-99 J. O. Whitmarsh 1899-1900 James E. Bell 1900-01 Charles K. Greene 1901-02 William E. Terrill 1902-03 Jacob Hunsaker 1903-04 Thomas E. Headlee 1904-06 James H. Mitchell 1906-07 Newton Jones 1907-10 Roland H. Hartley 1910-12 Richard B. Hassell 1912 Christian Christenson 1912-14 Thomas J. Kelly 1914 William H. Clay 1914-16 Dennis D. Merrill 1916-20 William H. Clay 1920-24 John H. Smith 1924-28 Nelson D. Martin 1928-32 Arthur C. Edwards 1932-40 S. Frank Spencer 1940-42 Jack Williams 1942-43 Henry Arends 1944-52 Louis H. Unzelman 1952-54 C. Arvid Johnson 1954-56 George N. Culmback 1956-60 George Gebert 1960-64 Arthur F. Alexander 1964-68 Robert C. Anderson 1968-77 Joyce M. Ebert 1977 William E. Moore 1977-90 Pete Kinch 1990-94 Edward D. Hansen 1994-2002 Frank E. Anderson 2002-03 Ray Stephanson 2003-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1893 Apr 27: Thomas Dwyer, elected.
  • 1893 Dec 5: Norton D. Walling, elected.
  • 1894 Dec 4: Jacob Hunsaker, elected.
  • 1895 Dec 3: William C. Cox, elected.
  • 1896 Dec 8: Jacob Falconer, elected.
  • 1897 Dec 7: Jacob Falconer, elected.
  • 1898 Dec 6: J. O. Whitmarsh, elected.
  • 1899 Dec 5: James E. Bell, elected.
  • 1900 Dec 4: Charles K. Greene, elected.
  • 1901 Dec 3: William E. Terrill, elected.
  • 1902 Dec 2: Jacob Hunsaker, elected.
  • 1903 Dec 1: Thomas E. Headlee, elected.
  • 1904 Dec 6: Thomas E. Headlee, elected.
  • 1905 Dec 5: James H. Mitchell, elected.
  • 1906 Dec 4: Newton Jones, elected.
  • 1907 Nov 26: Newton Jones, elected.
  • 1909 Nov 2: Roland H. Hartley, elected.
  • 1911 Nov 7: Richard B. Hassell, elected.
  • 1931 Dec 5: Arthur C. Edwards, elected.
  • 1935 Dec 7: Arthur C. Edwards, elected.
  • 1942 Nov 18: S. Frank Spencer, resigned.
  • 1954 May 21: Louis H. Unzelman, died in office.
  • 1960 Jul 6: George N. Culmback, died in office.
  • 1968 Nov 5: Robert C. Anderson, elected.
  • 1973 Nov 6: Robert C. Anderson, elected.
  • 1977 Oct 10: Robert C. Anderson, resigned.
  • 1977 Nov 8: William E. Moore, elected.
  • 1981 Nov 3: William E. Moore, elected.
  • 1985 Nov 5: William E. Moore, elected.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Pete Kinch, elected.
  • 1993 Nov 2: Edward D. Hansen, elected.
  • 1997 Nov 4: Edward D. Hansen, elected unopposed.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Edward D. Hansen, elected; David Sherman, defeated.
  • 2002 Jun 30: Edward D. Hansen, resigned.
  • 2003 Nov 4: Ray Stephanson, elected; Frank E. Anderson, defeated.

    Postmasters at Everett, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    J. M. Vernon as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WA/ofc/everett.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]